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I.     INTRODUCTION 
 
 

 
Alcohol and other drug use is a problem of significant proportions that threatens the health 
and well-being of every citizen in the state of Ohio.  The use of illegal drugs and abuse of 
prescription drugs reaches into every community and every walk of life, including the workplace. 

 
The State of Ohio Drug-Free Workplace Services Program (DFW SP) has as its primary 
mission the fostering of a safe, productive, and drug-free workplace environment for state 
employees, an environment  conducive  to the  successful  accomplishment of  agency  goals  
and  missions,  the enhancement of employee well-being, and increased employee 
productivity. This is accomplished through a dual state and federally-required drug testing 
effort. 

 

 

FEDERAL TESTING PROGRAM.         The federal testing program, mandated by the 
Omnibus Transportation Employee Testing Act of 1991 (49 U.S.C.  § 31306), applies to state 
employees whose duties require commercial driver’s licenses and the driving of certain types 
of vehicles.    It includes pre-employment, random, reasonable suspicion, return-to-duty, follow-
up, and post- accident testing. 

 
A total of eighteen (18) state agencies participate in this program.  Most covered employees 
work in the Department of Transportation.     Significant, but lesser, numbers of employees 
are found within the Departments of Natural Resources and Rehabilitation and Correction. 

 
Most federal testing involves random testing.  Currently, 25 percent of all eligible employees 
must be tested annually for drugs, and 10 percent for alcohol.   Employees to be tested 
are  selected from a computer-generated  random selection  process  using  the  position  
control   numbers  of employees in the pool.    The names of employees in the positions 
selected for  testing are then supplied by the Drug-Free Workplace Services Program to the 
departmental testing coordinators. 

 
STATE TESTING PROGRAM.  The state testing program has three testing 
components: 

 

 

1.       Pre-employment testing of all final applicants for: 
 

safety-sensitive positions where the applicant is not a state 
employee; and 

all unclassified positions    (except that agencies are not required to 
test an applicant who is a current state employee who has a test on 
record and who also has not had a break in service). 
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2.       Reasonable suspicion testing of  any state employee where there is a  reason 
to suspect that the employee, when reporting for duty or while on the job, is 
impaired by, or under the influence of, alcohol or other drugs. 

3.       Random testing for employees in the Departments of Rehabilitation and Correction 
and Youth Services who have direct contact with inmates or youths within those 
systems are subject to random testing.  A random testing program is also in place for 
State Highway Patrol employees in the Department of Public Safety.   Additional 
safety-sensitive classifications are identified in the collective bargaining agreements 
and/or an agency specific drug free workplace policy. 

 

 
 

This manual includes a general description of the state and federal drug testing programs, 
and provides procedural guidelines for implementing the different types of tests required 
under each program.  Additional information and assistance regarding the federal and state 
drug testing requirements and the process for their implementation is available from the 
Drug-Free  Workplace  Services  Program (DFWSP)  in the  Department  of Administrative 
Services' Human Resources Division. The telephone number is: 

 

(614) 466·6346 
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II.     FEDERAL TESTING PROGRAM 
 
 
 
 

A.  General Overview 
 
 

 

1.     Who Must be Tested? 
 

 

Two conditions must be met before an employee is subject to the testing requirements of the 
Omnibus Transportation Employee Testing Act of 1991 (49 U.S.C.  § 31306)  (hereinafter 
"the Act").  The employee must have a commercial driver's license (CDL) and perform safety- 
sensitive functions as defined by the Act. 

 
a.        CDL Holder. 
 

Under the Act, a "commercial motor vehicle" includes any motor vehicle used to transport 
passengers or property if the vehicle has: 

 
1)       a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds, including a towed unit 

with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds; or 
2)       a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds; or 
3)       is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver; or 
4)       is  of  any size  and  is  used  to  transport  hazardous materials  as  defined  by the 

Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. 

 
b.       Performing safety·sensitive functions. 

 

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, through 49 CFR Part 382, clarified  and 
expanded the definition of safety-sensitive functions found in the Act.        Under the  new 
regulations, safety-sensitive function means all time a driver is at work or is required to be in 
readiness to work. Safety-sensitive functions now include the following six (6) situations: 

 
1)  all time spent driving a commercial motor vehicle; 
2)  all time spent on employer or public property waiting to be dispatched, unless the driver has 

been relieved from duty by the employer; 
3)  all time spent inspecting, servicing or conditioning any commercial motor vehicle at any 

time; 
4)  all time (other than driving time) in or on any commercial vehicle, except time spent resting 

in a sleeper berth; 
5)  all time spent loading or unloading a vehicle, supervising or assisting in loading or 

unloading a vehicle, remaining in readiness to operate a commercial motor vehicle or 
giving receipts for shipments loaded or unloaded; and 

6)  all time spent repairing, obtaining assistance for or standing by a disabled vehicle. 



8 
 

 
  
  
  
 

Thus, instead of limiting alcohol tests to the time just before, during or after an employee 
drives a commercial vehicle, the revised regulations enable an Employer to order a test any 
time the employee is on site waiting to be dispatched, loading or unloading a commercial 
motor vehicle, riding in a commercial motor vehicle, repairing a commercial vehicle, etc. 

 

 
 
 

2.     What Types of Tests are Required Under the Federal Program? 
 
 

The  Act  requires  pre-employment  drug  tests  and  reasonable  suspicion,  post-accident, 
random, return-to-duty, and follow-up tests for both alcohol and drugs. 

 
 
 
 

3.     Who is Required to Pay for Tests? 
 
 

Employees are responsible for the cost of any test which is required as the result of a 
positive test (i.e. return-to-duty, follow-up tests and re-tests). 

 
 
 
 

4.     Is Travel and Testing Time Compensated? 
 
 

Except for return-to-duty testing, all travel time and time spent in the actual testing process 
will be considered "time worked" for compensation purposes. 

 

 
 
 

5.     What if an Employee Refuses to be Tested? 
 
 

An employee may not refuse to submit to a required post-accident, random, reasonable 
suspicion, or follow-up alcohol or drug test.  An employee's refusal to test will be considered 
as a positive test. 

 

 
 

A refusal to test for alcohol will occur when the employee: 

 
refuses to sign the breath alcohol test form; 

refuses to provide breath for an alcohol test; 

refuses to provide an adequate amount of breath to complete an alcohol test; or 

fails to cooperate with the testing process in any way that prevents completion of the 
test. 
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A refusal to test for drugs occurs when the employee: 

 
refuses to provide a urine specimen; 

refuses to provide an adequate amount of urine; or 

fails to cooperate with the testing process in any way that prevents completion of the 
test. 

 
Any person refusing to take a pre-employment test will not be hired.  An employee refusing 
to take a return-to-duty test cannot be returned to safety-sensitive duties. 

 
 
 
 

6.     What Does the Federal Law Prohibit? 
 

 

The Act prohibits all of the following: 
 

 

the use of alcohol or any controlled substance while the employee is performing safety- 
sensitive functions; 

the  performance  of  any  safety-sensitive  duty  within  four  (4)  hours  after  the 
consumption of alcohol; 

the refusal to take an alcohol or drug test when ordered; 

remaining on duty after a positive alcohol (0.04 or greater Blood Alcohol Content 
("BAC") or drug test; 

the performance of safety-sensitive functions by any person with a BAC of 0.02 to 

0.0399; and 

the consumption of any alcohol within eight (8) hours of an accident by any employee 
subject to a post-accident test. 

 
Note: Employees who test between 0.02 and 0.0399 BAC must be removed from safety- 
sensitive duties and cannot return to such duties until 24 hours have elapsed, or until a re-test 
for alcohol is less than 0.02. 
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B. Procedural Guidelines for Testing 
 

 

The following procedural guidelines are to be used by all agencies in implementing the drug and 
alcohol testing requirements of the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Administration as specified in the Omnibus Transportation Employee Testing Act of 1991 (49 
U.S.C. §31306).  These guidelines are to be followed when processing safety-sensitive employees 
for drug and/or alcohol testing. Agencies are cautioned not to vary from these guidelines without 
contacting DFW SP. 

 
 

 
 
 

1.     How Does the Collection Site Know it is Conducting a Federal 

Test? 
 

 

In arranging federal tests, agencies should inform the collection site: 

that they are scheduling a federal DOT test and specify the type of test(s); 

that the test is for drugs, for alcohol, or for both alcohol and drugs; 

the name of the agency ordering the test, and the agency five-digit account number; 

that a split specimen is required; 

that the collection is for Alere Toxicology Services; and 

the name and State of Ohio User Identification number of the person sent for the 
specimen collection. 

 
An employee should NEVER be sent unannounced to any collection site.  The agency should 
ALW AYS call ahead with information needed for the collection.   All persons sent for testing 
should have photo identification. 

 

 

Remember  that  all  drug  and  alcohol  tests  of safety-sensitive  employees  covered  under 
federal DOT testing regulations must conform to the Act, whether the test is conducted as a 
reasonable suspicion, post-accident or random test. 

 
 
 
 

 

2.     How are Each of the Types of Tests Administered? 
 

 

This section discusses the testing requirements for each of the six types of tests required by 
federal law. 

 

 

a.       Pre·employment Testing. 

 

Drug tests (but not alcohol) are required for all final applicants for positions covered by federal 
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DOT testing requirements (i.e., CDL holders).  Persons entering these positions from outside 
state government, and current state employees who do not perform safety-sensitive functions 
(as defined in 49 CFR Part 382) who are transferring into these positions, must be  tested. 
However, current state employees who already perform safety-sensitive functions  are not 
required  to be  tested  when  they are  transferred  or  promoted  into  other  safety-sensitive 
positions. 

 
1)       Is there an alternative to requiring a pre-employment test? 

 
An employer may opt not to administer a pre-employment drug test if documentation 
can be provided that the prospective employee participated in a DOT drug testing 
program within the past 30 days, and while in that program: 

 
a)       had a negative drug test within the past six (6) months; or 
b)       participated in a random testing program for the previous 12   months 

and 
c)       the employer ensures that no prior employer of whom the employer has 

knowledge has records of a positive test for the prospective employee 
within the past six (6) months. 

 
An employer is not required to obtain this previous test information as a condition of 
employment, but only as an alternative to conducting the pre-employment test. 

 
2)       What releases of information must the employee provide? 

 
The Act does require prospective employees to authorize release of information about 
previous tests conducted under the Act.  The authorization is a condition for 
employment, and must include: 

 
a)         positive drug tests for the preceding three years from the date of application. 
b) alcohol test results of 0.04 or greater for the preceding three years from  

the date of application. 
c) refusals to be tested for the preceding three years from the date of 

application, and proof of completion of rehabilitation and return-to-duty 
test requirements after any positive tests. 

 
As a condition of employment, employees who previously failed tests must prove that 
they have been medically recertified as qualified. 

 
b.       Reasonable Suspicion Testing. 

 

If there is reasonable suspicion for an employer to believe that a covered employee is under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs, the agency must test that employee. 

 
 

1)       What documentation must the agency prepare to document its “reasonable suspicion"? 
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W hen conducting  reasonable  suspicion  tests  on  safety-sensitive  employees,  it  is 
important to  remember that  while  collective bargaining agreement (CBA)  language 
may require a second witness or written documentation prior to testing, the Act does 
not, and in certain circumstances following the CBA language may impede or delay the 
testing process. The Act requires one supervisory witness and written documentation 
by that supervisor or a designated employer representative (to be completed within 24 
hours of  ordering the  test) for  a  reasonable suspicion  test  for  drugs and alcohol. 
In    all    cases,   first-line  supervisors   should   be    advised   to    secure   additional 
witnesses  and  prepare  written documentation  but  not  to   allow   that  process  to 
interfere  with  the  testing  of  the employee. 

 
2)       When must the test be done? 

 
Reasonable suspicion testing for alcohol is authorized only if the required observations 
are  made just before, during or immediately after the  employee has performed a 
safety-sensitive function.  If the alcohol test is not administered within two (2) hours of 
the reasonable suspicion determination, documentation must be prepared to explain why 
it was not done.    If the alcohol test has not been administered within eight (8) hours, 
testing efforts must cease and the reasons for not administering the test must be 
documented. Testing should  never be  postponed or delayed  in  anticipation of using 
the random testing requirement as a substitute for a reasonable suspicion test. 

 
c.       Post·Accident Testing. 

 

Three situations trigger post-accident testing: 

 
any accident involving a fatality; 

any accident in which the driver is cited and there is disabling damage to the vehicle(s) 
requiring tow-away; or 

any accident in which the driver is cited, and off-site medical treatment is required. 
 

1)       What are the employee's responsibilities? 
 

Employees must immediately notify the agency about the accident (if medically able to 
do so), remain available for testing, and not consume any alcohol for eight (8) hours 
after the accident, or until an alcohol test has been administered, whichever occurs 
first. 

 
2)      What are the agency's responsibilities? 

 
a)       W hen must an alcohol test be given? 

 
Post-accident tests for  alcohol should be  done  within  two  (2)  hours of  the 
accident.   Attempts to test for alcohol should cease if eight (8) hours have 
elapsed after the accident and no test has been done. The agency must 
document why the test was not done. 
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b)       W hen must a drug test be given? 
 

Post-accident  tests  for drugs  must  be  done  as  soon  as  possible  
after  the accident, but never beyond 32 hours after the accident.  If the 
drug test was not done within the 32-hour time limit, the agency must 
document why it was not done. 

 
c)       W here must the test be given? 

 
In the event a post-accident test is necessary, agencies are not required 
to use one  of the State's  designated collection sites,  but  instead 
may use  federal, state, or local authorities to conduct such tests, 
provided the test giver has independent authorization to conduct such 
tests, the test process conforms to applicable federal,  state  or  local  
requirements, and  the  test  results can  be obtained by the employer. 

 
The agency must take all necessary steps to perform the required post-
accident testing of the employee.  If the employee is hospitalized 
following the accident, the agency must make every effort to secure 
whatever releases may be necessary (i.e, from the treating physician) 
to have a qualifying test performed at the hospital if it is possible for 
such a test to be conducted. 

 
d.       Random Testing. 

 

Of the average total of all covered employees, current regulations require that 10% 
must be randomly tested for alcohol each year and 25% must be randomly tested for 
drugs each year. Random testing must be done as soon as possible after the 
employee is notified that he/she is to be tested.    Testing cannot be delayed or 
postponed because of work schedules or workloads. 

 

1) Who is tested? 
 

The Drug-Free Workplace Services Program generates the master random 
testing list.   All covered employees are placed in the random selection pool. 
Positions to be tested are selected through a computer-based random process.  
Drug-Free Workplace Services  Program  forwards  the  list  of  names  of  
employees  to  be  tested  to  the applicable agency. Whether maintained by 
the agency coordinator or distributed to other agency personnel authorized to 
order random testing, the random testing list must be maintained in the 
strictest confidence. 

 
Positions can be added or deleted from the random testing pool at any time 
during the testing year, but these changes must be made before the cycle in 
which the changes are to be effective.   Changes cannot be made in the 
middle of a  testing cycle  (the cycles  for  federal  random  testing  are  
generally  of 30  days  duration). Agencies should ensure that seasonal 
workers have been added to the random pool in advance of the testing cycle 
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in which the employee will be performing the safety- sensitive function. 
 

Agency drug testing coordinators must ensure that the  random  testing  of  
their employees is as evenly distributed throughout the testing cycle as possible. 

 
2)       When must a drug test be given? 

 
a)       Tests can be ordered any time during the employee's work shift. 

 
b)       If  the employee is unavailable (attending a conference, sick, vacation, etc.) 

when  the  random  drug  testing  roster  is  received  by  the  coordinator,  the 
employee must be ordered to test the first time he/she returns to duty. 

 
c)      If the employee selected for random drug testing is off for more than 30 days 

(illness, vacation, etc.), a re-employment drug test is required before the 
employee can return to work. 

 
3)       When must an alcohol test be given? 

 
a)      Alcohol tests can only be ordered just before, during or immediately after the 

employee has performed the safety-sensitive function. 
 

b)       If the employee is not performing the safety-sensitive function when the random 
alcohol testing roster is received, the employee must be ordered to undergo a 
random alcohol test on the NEXT occasion he/she performs the safety-
sensitive function. 

 
An employee who will not be performing the safety-sensitive function at any time  
during the testing cycle should be removed from the random testing pool for that  
cycle.  Agencies should inform DFW SP of that fact. An alternate will then be selected  
by DFW SP from the secondary random testing list. For both drug and alcohol tests, 
since selection is random, the alternate may, or may not, be from the same agency  
as the person removed from the cycle. 
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goes to site for  test. 

 

 

 

Flow chart · Federal Random Testing 
 
 
 

 Agency compiles a list of all PN's with duties for which the federal 
 regulations require testing, and forwards list to DFWSP (Notify 
 DFWSP of additions/deletions for seasonal employees) 

  

  
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

DFWSP notifies 
agency if 

additional action 
is needed. 

  
 
 

 
 
 DFWSP sends rosters to agency primary drug testing coordinators. 
 

 
 
 
 
Agency primary drug testing coordinators forward roster to 
agency/institution/facility testing coordinators, as applicable. 

 

 

Agency 
coordinator 
forwards to 

DFW SP 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

List of employees 
unable to com ply

 
 

 
 Agency/institution/facility coordinators review roster to plan 
 distribution of testing as evenly as possible throughout the testing 
 cycle. 

 
 
 
 

Agency/institutional/facility coordinators order employees to 
proceed immediately to designated collection/testing sites. 

with testing 
requirements 

(disability, extended 
illness, etc.) sent to 
agency coordinators 

with reasons for 
excluding employee 
from testing cycle. 

 

Employee not available 
for testing 

(must go at next opportunity) 

 

Employee available 
for testing 

DFWSP compiles master list and has 
computer generate primary and secondary 
drug and alcohol testing rosters for each 
random testing cycle 
 testing cycle 
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e.         Return·to·Duty Testing. 

 

Any employee who has violated any of the Act's alcohol/drug misuse rules must be evaluated, 
treated (when indicated) and given a direct observation return-to-duty test with passing results 
as a condition for resuming safety-sensitive duties.  The alcohol test result must be less than 
0.02 BAC, and the controlled substance test must be negative.   The employee will be 
responsible for paying for return-to-duty tests. 

 
f.        Follow·Up Testing. 
 

Every employee who has returned to duty after receiving treatment/assistance for substance 
abuse as a result of testing positive, will be subject to unannounced follow-up alcohol and/or 
direct-observation controlled substance testing as directed by the substance abuse professional 
in charge of the employee's treatment/assistance.  There will be a minimum of six (6) 
unannounced follow-up tests during the first 12 months after the employee returns to duty.   
Testing may continue for up to sixty (60) months after the employee returns to duty if ordered 
by the substance abuse professional.  The employee will be responsible for paying for all 
follow-up tests. 

 

 
 
 
 
 

3.     What Happens When the Test Result is Positive? 
 
 

a.       Summary checklist. 

 

The following is a summary of the procedures to follow when an employee has tested positive 
for drugs or .04 or above for alcohol. A more detailed explanation of these steps follows. 

 
1)        Employee must be picked up at collection site if employee drove and has tested 

.04 or above for alcohol. Employee is prohibited from using a state vehicle. 
 

2)       The employee is removed from his or her duties. 
 

3)      Agency advises the employee to report promptly to the Ohio EAP or to a Substance 
Abuse Professional (SAP) who qualifies under USDOT rules.  The agency should 
personally contact EAP and advise them that the referral is for a positive test result by a  
safety-sensitive employee under the federal testing program. 

 

4)        A  pre-disciplinary  conference  should  be  held,  and  all  procedures  to  implement 
discipline  should  be  followed.  If the employee  enters  into  an  agreement  to  be 
evaluated and to complete any program required by the SAP, the implementation of 
discipline is to be SUSPENDED (See Last Chance Agreement at end of this section). 

 
5)      After successful completion of the treatment program, as determined by the SAP, a 
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return-to-duty test must be performed. 
 

6)       If negative, the employee may be returned to duty. 
 

7)       Any employee who has not produced an official negative return-to-duty test within 180 
calendar days after a positive federal test result will be terminated for failure to return to 
work as stipulated in the employee's last chance agreement. 

 
b.       Procedures. 
 

1)       Transportation from collection site. 
 

Any time an agency is notified of a positive drug/alcohol test (or if the agency has reason 
to order a post-accident or reasonable suspicion test) the employee must be barred from 
using a state vehicle.       Although employees may be provided a state vehicle to report 
for random drug or alcohol testing, the agency must retrieve the vehicle and transport 
the employee back to the workplace if it is informed of a positive alcohol test result. (Drug 
test results are not immediately available). 

 
2)       Removal from duties. 

 

 

All safety-sensitive employees who test positive for drugs or alcohol must be removed 
from their safety-sensitive duties.  Employees who test .02% or above BAC alcohol 
must be removed from their safety-sensitive duties as described above while 
employees who test .04% BAC or above for alcohol or positive for drugs must be 
removed from their safety-sensitive duties for the period of time specified by a Substance 
Abuse Professional (SAP) and until they pass a return-to-duty test.  

 

 

3)       Referral for treatment. 

 
Employees who test positive for alcohol or controlled substances for the first time, with 
no  other disciplinable offense, will be  referred to a  Substance Abuse Professional 
(SAP) for evaluation as to what treatment is needed for the employee to be able to 
resume safety-sensitive duties.    Employees will be required to successfully complete 
such treatment as one condition of resuming their safety-sensitive work duties. The Act 
defines the SAP as a licensed physician (M.D. or D.O.), licensed or certified psychologist, 
social worker or employee assistance professional with knowledge of and clinical 
experience in the  diagnosis and  treatment of substance abuse disorders. 
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Alcohol and drug abuse counselors with NAADAC certification are also acceptable 
SAPs. 

 

 

a)       Processing through Ohio EAP. 

 
W hen the employer receives notification from DFW SP that a safety-sensitive 
employee has tested positive for drugs or alcohol (.04% or above BAC) the 
proper agency official   shall   refer the   employee to the   Ohio   EAP   and, 
should the employee wish to be processed through the EAP, that official shall 
contact the EAP to confirm that referral.   The agency should confirm in writing 
to the EAP that this is a "mandatory referral" of a safety-sensitive employee. 
From this point, the EAP will coordinate the employee's referral and serve as 
the communications link between the SAP and the agency.  The EAP will inform 
the agency of whatever documentation needs to be completed. 

 
b)       Self-referral. 

 

In some cases, employees may not wish to use the services of EAP but, rather 
seek (or "self- refer") to his or her own SAP.  W hen an employee chooses "self 
referral"    it is incumbent upon the agency to acquire the necessary releases 
from the employee so that the agency may communicate directly with the SAP. 
The agency should recommend that the employee report promptly to the SAP 
having the certification required by the Act, and that the evaluation of the SAP 
be made available to the agency. 

 

 

The agency or EAP must acquire any waivers from the employee necessary to monitor 
the employee's evaluation and treatment.        This can be accomplished with    the 
execution of a Last Chance Agreement (See Section V. for further explanation). 

 

 
 

4)       Waiver of Discipline. 
 

 

The employee should be notified, and a pre-disciplinary meeting held in accordance 
with the applicable collective bargaining agreement. The investigation and discipline 
trail should be no different than for any other offense which could result in suspension 
or termination. The agency should use the conference to assure that its information is 
correct, and that all procedural aspects of the test have been performed correctly.   If 
the employee enters into a last chance agreement, imposition of discipline is suspended.  
If the employee refuses to sign a last chance agreement, discipline may be imposed. 
Should the employee later test positive for drugs or alcohol, or in any way violate the 
terms of the last chance agreement, a second disciplinary process and pre- disciplinary 
meeting should be completed for that offense.   The employee should be charged both 
with the appropriate infraction and the breech of the last chance agreement.  A discussion 
of discipline, last chance agreements and a sample agreement are found later in this 
manual. 
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5)       Return-to-Duty. 

 

 

Before an employee who has tested positive for drugs or alcohol (.04 or above BAC) may 
return-to-duty, the SAP must certify in writing to either the agency or the EAP that the 
employee may return to his or her safety-sensitive duties, and the employee must pass a 
return to work drug/alcohol test.      Return-to-duty testing and all mandatory follow-up testing 
will be coordinated by DFW SP.  Agencies may not accept test results not approved by DFW 
SP. 

 
6)       Follow-Up Tests. 

 
The employee must be tested a minimum of six times within 12 months after the 
employee returns to duty.   Additional tests may be conducted for up to 60 months if ordered 
by the SAP. 

 
7)       Re-employment Tests. 

 
An employee selected for a random drug test who is off work for more than 30 days (illness, 
vacation, etc.) must pass a re-employment test as a condition for returning to duty. 
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Disciplinary/Treatment Process 
 

 

 

 

 

EVALUATION AND TREATMENT MAY BEGIN 

CONCURRENTLY WITH DISCIPLINE PROCESS 
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c.          Special Procedures. 

  

1)       What if the employee requests a retest after a positive test? 
 

 

An employee’s request for a retest of positive drug specimens must be made 
within 72 hours of an employee’s being advised of the positive result by the MRO.  
The 72-hour clock begins when the employee is first notified of the positive result.  
All re-tests must be coordinated by the state’s MRO and done by a laboratory 
certified by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as determined 
by the MRO. 

 
2)       What if the employee's blood alcohol content tests between .02% and .0399%? 

 

 

Agencies may impose appropriate progressive discipline on employees who test 
between .02% and .0399% BAC.  The employee does not need to be evaluated 
by a SAP or undergo substance abuse treatment but must be removed from 
safety-sensitive duties until the beginning of the employee’s next full shift (but no 
sooner than twenty-four hours).   

 
 
 

d.       Designation of Leave 

 
1)       How should the employee's pay status be designated? 

 
a)       Paid leave. 

 
Until the employee is provided notice of  the   pre-disciplinary meeting, the 
employee will be placed on approved paid administrative leave. After 
receiving notice of the pre-disciplinary meeting, if the employee waives 
the requirement that the meeting take place no earlier than three days 
after the notice was given, the employee shall remain on approved paid 
leave until the meeting is conducted. 

 
b)       Unpaid leave. 

 
If the employee refuses to waive the 72-hour (three-day) requirement, the 
employee will be placed on approved administrative leave without pay.   
The employee should be informed that he/she will remain in leave without 
pay status pending the successful completion of any required evaluation 
and treatment. 

 
c)        Supplementing leave without pay. 

 
Employees shall be permitted to utilize sick, vacation and other paid 
leave to supplement their income during the period which they are 
placed on unpaid leave of absence due to a positive drug or alcohol test. 

 



22 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  

2)       When does the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) apply? 
 

Agencies are reminded that all paid or unpaid leave (up to 12 weeks) during substance 
abuse treatment for either drugs or alcohol is qualifying under the Family Medical 
Leave Act, provided the employee's condition meets the definition of a "serious health 
condition." 

 

 

As it relates to treatment for substance abuse, "serious health condition", means an 
illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that involves either: 

 

 

any period of incapacity or treatment connected w ith inpatient care (i.e., 
an overnight stay) in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical-care facility, 
and any period of incapacity or subsequent treatment in connection with such 
inpatient care; or 

 

 

continuing treatment by a health care provider which includes any period 
of incapacity (i.e., inability to work, attend school or perform other regular daily 
activities) due to: 

 
A health condition (including treatment therefor, or recovery therefrom) lasting more 
than three consecutive days, and any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity 
relating to the same condition, that also includes: 

 
treatment two or more times by or under the supervision of a health care provider; 
or 

one treatment by a health care provider with a continuing regimen of treatment. 
 

The agency should take a l l  n e ce s sa ry  steps, i nc lud ing  proper notification to t h e  
employee that time off for treatment will be counted as FMLA leave, to capture that 
time off toward the employee's 12-week entitlement.  Even if the employee is in unpaid 
status, the FMLA requires that the State continue medical insurance benefits until the 
employee exhausts  h is /her 12-week FMLA l ea ve .     Should the  employee fa i l  t o  
complete the substance abuse treatment program or otherwise fail to return to work, 
the State may recoup the premium payments made on the employee's behalf from the 
employee's last paycheck. 
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III.     STATE TESTING PROGRAM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A.  General Overview 
 
 
 
 

1.     Who Must be Tested? 
 

 

Like the federal testing program, where only certain employees are subject to testing, the 
state testing program only applies to employees in certain circumstances: 

 
 

a.        Applicants for Safety·Sensitive or Unclassified Positions. 

 

Final applicants who are not state employees who are applying for safety-sensitive 
positions, and all final applicants for unclassified positions, must complete and successfully 
pass a drug test as a condition of employment.  However, agencies have the discretion not 
to test an applicant who is a state employee, who has a test on record and who also has not 
had a break in service. 

 
For intermittent, temporary and external interim appointments, only those employees who 
are expected to work for four months or more in a safety-sensitive position for which drug 
testing is normally required will be subject to pre-employment drug testing.      

 
b.       Employees Reasonably Suspected of Being Under the Influence. 

 

The state testing program applies to any state employee who is suspected to be impaired 
by or under the influence of drugs or alcohol when reporting for duty or while on the job. 

 

c.      Random Testing for positions that are designated safety·sensitive in accordance  

with collective bargaining agreements and/or an agency specific drug free workplace policy. 
 

Employees in the Departments of Rehabilitation and Correction and Youth Services who 
have direct contact with inmates or youths within those systems are subject to random 
testing.  A random testing program is also in place for State Highway Patrol employees in 
the Department of Public Safety.   Additional safety-sensitive classifications are identified in 
the collective bargaining agreements and/or an agency specific drug free workplace policy. 
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2.     What Types of Tests are Required Under the State Program? 
 
 

The state testing program requires applicant testing, reasonable suspicion testing, random 
testing for certain employees and rebuttable presumption testing.  Return-to-duty and follow-
up testing are required for employees who have tested positive. 

 
 

 

3.     Who is Required to Pay for Tests? 
 
 

Employees are responsible for the cost of any test which is required as the result of a 
positive test (i.e. return-to-duty, follow-up tests and re-tests). 

 
 
 
 

4.     Is Travel and Testing Time Compensated? 
 
 

Except for return-to-duty testing, all travel time and time spent in the actual testing process 
will be considered "time worked" for compensation purposes. 

 

 
 
 

5.     What if an Employee Refuses to be Tested? 
 

 

An employee's refusal to test or failure to cooperate with the testing process in any w ay 

that would prevent completion of the test will be considered as a positive test. 
 
 

 

6.     What are the Protocols for Collection and Transportation of 

State Program Tests? 
 

 

Unless otherwise changed through agreement between the State and the applicable union, 
the collection, transmission and testing of all samples will conform to the federal Omnibus 
Transportation Employee Testing Act of 1991 and its implementing regulations. 
 

 

 

7.     When is a Union Representative Involved? 
 

 

For both reasonable suspicion and random testing, employees have the right to consult with 
a union representative, if one is available, within one hour prior to testing.   For reasonable 
suspicion testing, a Union representative may accompany the employee to the collection 
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site as long as it does not delay or impede the testing process. 
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B.  Procedural Guidelines for Testing 
 
The following guidelines are to be used by all agencies in implementing alcohol and drug testing 
conducted  under  the  State  of  Ohio  Drug-Free  W orkplace Policy  and  applicable  collective 
bargaining agreements. 

 
 
 
 

1.     How Does the Collection Site Know it is Conducting a State 

(Non-DOT) Test? 
 

 

In arranging tests under the state testing program, agencies should inform the collection site: 

that they are scheduling a state (non-DOT) test and specify the type of test(s); 

that the test is for drugs, for alcohol, or for both alcohol and drugs; 

the name of the agency ordering the test, and the agency five-digit account number; 

that a split specimen is required; 

that the collection is for Alere Toxicology Services; and 

the name and State of Ohio User Identification number of the person sent for the 
specimen collection. 

 
An employee should NEVER be sent unannounced to any collection site.  The agency should 
ALW AYS call ahead with information needed for the collection.   All persons sent for testing 
should have photo identification. 

  
 

2.     How are Each of the Types of Tests Administered? 
 
 

a.        Applicant Testing. 
 

 

The agency person responsible for applicant testing schedules a time for the applicant to go 
to the collection site and notifies the applicant of that time. The test should be done as 
soon as possible after notification, but never beyond thirty-two (32) hours after the initial 
notification. DFW SP should be contacted if the applicant cannot comply with this timeline. 

 
Any applicant who tests positive will not be eligible for state employment for a period of one - 
year following the date of the positive result.  Applicants who refuse to be tested, or whose 
actions impede the collection process in any way, will not be hired. 
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b.       Reasonable Suspicion Testing. 

 

1)      Who may be tested? 

 
"Reasonable suspicion” testing shall be conducted when there is reasonable 
suspicion to believe that an employee, when appearing for duty or on the job, is 
under the influence of, or his/her job performance is impaired by alcohol or other drugs.      
This reasonable suspicion must be based upon objective facts or specific 
circumstances found to exist that present a reasonable basis to believe that an 
employee is under the influence of or is using or abusing alcohol or drugs. Examples 
of reasonable suspicion include, but are not limited to: 

 
slurred speech; 

disorientation; 

abnormal conduct or behavior; 

involvement in an on-the-job accident resulting in d isab l ing  personal 
injury requiring immediate hospitalization of any person or property damage   
in   excess   of   $2,000,   where   the   circumstances r a i s e    a reasonable 
suspicion concerning the existence of alcohol or other drug use or abuse 
by the employee. 

 
2)        What documentation must the agency prepare to document its “reasonable 

suspicion”? 
 

Reasonable suspicion must be documented in writing and supported by two 
witnesses (for exempt employees, only one witness), including the person having 
such suspicion.    For bargaining unit employees, the immediate supervisor shall be 
contacted to confirm that a test is warranted based upon the circumstances. This 
written documentation must be presented as soon as possible to the employee and 
the department head, who will maintain the report in the strictest confidence.  A copy 
shall be released to any person designated by the affected employee. 

 

 

3)       Who should transport the employee to the collection site? 
 

An employee ordered to undergo a reasonable suspicion test must ALW AYS be 
transported by the agency to the collection/alcohol test site. 
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c.        Random Testing. 

 
1)       Who may be tested? 

 
Employees in the Departments of Rehabilitation and Correction and Youth 
Services who have direct contact with inmates or youths within those systems 
are subject to random testing.  A random testing program is also in place for 
State Highway Patrol employees in the Department of Public Safety.  Additional 
safety-sensitive classifications are identified in the collective bargaining 
agreements and/or an agency specific drug free workplace policy.  New 
employees will be provided notice and training prior to testing  

 
2)       How is the random testing list maintained? 

 
The random testing list will be maintained and administered by DFW SP. 
Employees will be selected from the random testing list by a computer driven 
random number process, based upon the position control number of the 
positions subject to testing. DFW SP will determine the test cycle, number of 
positions to be selected for testing in each test cycle, and the number of cycles 
to be run during the testing year. 

 
The percentage of employees to be tested annually will vary.   In the first 
two (2) years of the testing program, up to 30% of the positions in the random 
testing pool can be tested.  During the third year of testing, from 10% - 30% 
of the total positions in the pool will be selected for testing. 

 
3)       What is the time limit for testing? 

 
Any employee whose name is selected for random testing shall be tested in 
accordance with collective bargaining agreements and/or as determined by DFW 
SP. 
 

 4) Who is responsible for coordination? 
 

Each agency will designate a primary drug testing coordinator, as well as 
coordinators for each institution/facility.  Back-up personnel (with sufficient 
knowledge to conduct testing in the absence of the designated coordinator) 
should also be selected for each operational level. 

 

5)       What procedures should the testing coordinators follow? 
 

Coordinators should follow these procedures: 
 

a)      DFWSP prepares both the primary lists and secondary lists when applicable.  
Each cycle, DFW SP sends the primary testing list to the agency primary drug 
testing coordinator. Lists will be agency/institution/facility-specific. When 
required, secondary lists will also be provided to the primary agency drug testing 
coordinator. 
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b)       Agency primary drug testing coordinators will promptly distribute the list to the 
appropriate agency/institution/facility coordinators. 

 
c) Agency/institution/facility coordinators will contact the appropriate collection 

site to arrange for specimen collection/alcohol testing for all employees 
scheduled for random testing during that cycle and order the employees to 
proceed promptly to the collection site. 

 
d)      Agency/institution/facility coordinators will prepare a l is t  o f  a l l  employees 

unable to comply with the testing requirement (along with a brief explanation 
as to why, i.e., vacation, illness, etc.).  This list is forwarded to the agency 
coordinator, who reviews the list and forwards it to DFW SP. 

 
e)       DFWSP replaces any employee legitimately excluded from the testing process 

with the next selection from the secondary random testing list.  DFWSP sends 
these selections to the agency coordinators when required.  

 
f)        Agency primary drug testing coordinators forward secondary selections to 

the agency/institution/facility coordinator, who follow the procedures in step 
c). 

 
Note: All tests must be completed within test cycles established in accordance 
 with collective bargaining agreements and/or as determined by DFWSP. 

 
The D F W S P  staff will meet periodically with the agency drug testing coordinators, and 
other staff involved in the drug testing program to review the progress of the random testing 
process, and to coordinate any changes necessary to bring the testing process into 
conformance with testing requirements. 
 

d.        Rebuttable Presumption 
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State Random Testing Flowchart 
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e.       Return to Duty and Follow  Up Tests. 
 

Any employee with a positive alcohol or drug test will be required to complete a 
direct observation return-to-duty drug test with a negative test result, or a return-to-
duty alcohol test with a negative test result, as a condition for returning to work. 

 

The employee, after successfully completing the direct observation return-do-duty test, 
will be subject to six (6) unannounced direct observation follow-up tests during the twelve 
(12) months following his/her return to work.  Follow-up testing may continue for up to 
sixty (60) months after the employee return t work, if ordered by the Substance Abuse 
Professional.  The employee will be responsible for the cost of any return-to-duty or follow-
up tests required. 

 
 

  

3.     What Happens When the Test Result is Positive? 
 
 

a. Summary checklist 
 

A test result which indicates .04% blood alcohol level will be considered a positive test 
 

The following is a summary of the procedures to follow when an employee has tested 
positive for drugs or .04 or above for alcohol. A more detailed explanation of these steps 
follows. 

 
1) Employee must be picked up at collection site if employee drove and has 

tested .04 or above for alcohol.  At that time, employee is prohibited from 
using a state vehicle. 

 
2) The employee is removed from his or her duties. 

 
3) Agency advises the employee to report promptly to a Substance Abuse 

Professional (SAP).  The agency should personally contact EAP and advise 
them that the referral is for a positive test result under the state testing program. 

 

4) A pre-disciplinary conference should be held, and all procedures to 
implement discipline should be followed.       If the employee enters into an 
agreement to be evaluated and to complete any program required by the 
SAP, the implementation of discipline is to be SUSPENDED (See Last enhance 
Agreement at end of this section 

 

5) After successful completion of the treatment program, as determined by the SAP, 
a return-to-duty test must be performed. 
 

6) If negative, the employee may be returned to duty. 
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7) Any employee who has not produced an official negative return-to-duty test within 
180 calendar days after a positive state test result will be terminated for failure to 
return to work as stipulated in the employee's last chance agreement. 

 
b.       Procedures. 
 

1)       Transportation from collection site. 
 

Any time an agency is notified of a positive drug/alcohol test (or if the agency has 
reason to order a post-accident or reasonable suspicion test) the employee must be 
barred from using a state vehicle.   Although employees may be provided a state 
vehicle to report for random drug or alcohol testing, the agency must retrieve the 
vehicle and transport the employee back to the workplace if it is informed of a positive 
alcohol test result. (Drug test results are not immediately available). 

 
2)       Removal from duties. 

 

 

An employee who tests positive for drugs or alcohol must be removed from duty 
pending release by EAP and/or the SAP and must complete a negative return to duty 
test. 

 
3)       Referral for treatment. 

 
On the first occasion an employee tests positive for alcohol or drugs, the employee 
will be given the opportunity to be e v a l u a t e d  by a S A P  and m a y  enter into a  
substance abuse program at the direction of that SA P .  No disciplinary action shall 
be taken against the employee, provided he/she successfully completes the 
program.   An employee’s refusal to accept referral for diagnosis, or to   follow 
prescribed treatment will be handled in accordance with the relevant collective 
bargaining agreement relating to job performance and may result in disciplinary 
action up to and including termination. 

 
The agency or EAP must acquire any waivers from the employee necessary to monitor 
the employee’s evaluation and treatment.  This can be  accomplished  with  the 
execution of a Last Chance Agreement. (See Section V for further explanation). 
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4)       Waiver of Discipline. 
 

 

The employee should be notified, and a pre-disciplinary meeting held in 
accordance   with   the   applicable   collective   bargaining   agreement.   The 
investigation and discipline trail should be no different than any other offense 
which could result in suspension or termination.  The  agency  should  use  the 
meeting  to  assure  that  its  information  is correct,  and  that  all  procedural 
aspects of the test have been performed correctly.  If the employee enters into 
a  last  chance  agreement,  imposition  of  discipline  is  suspended.  If   the 
employee  refuses  to  sign  a  last  chance  agreement,  discipline  may  be 
imposed. Should the employee later test positive for drugs or alcohol, or in any 
way violate  the  terms of  the  last  chance agreement, a  second disciplinary 
process and pre- disciplinary meeting should be  completed for that offense. 
The employee should be charged both with the appropriate infraction and the 
breech of the last chance agreement. A discussion of discipline, last chance 
agreements and a sample agreement are found later in this manual. 

 
5)       Return-to-Duty. 

 

 

Before an employee who has tested positive for drugs or alcohol (.04 or above 
BAC) may return to duty, the SAP must certify in writing to either the agency or 
the EAP that the employee may return to his or her duties, and the employee 
must pass a return-to- duty drug/alcohol test.    Return-to-duty testing and all 
mandatory follow-up testing will be coordinated with the DFW SP.   Agencies 
may not accept test results not approved by the DFW SP. 

 
6)       Follow-Up Tests. 

 
The employee must be tested a minimum of six times within 12 months after 
the employee returns to duty.   Additional tests may be conducted for up to 60 
months if ordered by the SAP. 

 

 

c.       Special Procedures. 
 

1)       What if the employee requests a retest after a positive test? 
 

 

An employee’s request for a retest of positive drug specimens must be made 
within 72 hours of an employee’s being advised of the positive result by the MRO.  
The 72-hour clock begins when the employee is first notified of the positive result.  
All re-tests must be coordinated by the state’s MRO and done by a laboratory 
certified by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as determined by 
the MRO. 
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d.       Designation of Leave 

 
1)       How should the employee's pay status be designated? 

 

 

a)       Paid leave. 
 

 

Until the  employee  is  provided  notice  of  the  pre-disciplinary meeting, 
the employee will be placed on approved paid administrative leave.  After 
receiving notice of  the  pre-disciplinary meeting, if  the employee waives 
the requirement that the meeting take place no earlier than three days 
after the notice  was given, the employee shall remain on approved paid 
leave until the meeting is conducted. 

 

 

b)       Unpaid leave. 
 

 

If the employee refuses to waive the 72-hour (three day) requirement, the 
employee will be placed on approved administrative leave without pay. 
The employee should be informed that he/she will remain in leave without 
pay status pending the successful completion of any required evaluation 
and treatment. 

 

 

c)       Supplementing leave without pay 
 

 

Employees shall be permitted to utilize sick, vacation and other paid leave 
to supplement their income during the period which they are placed on 
unpaid leave of absence due to a positive drug or alcohol test. 

 
2)       When does the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) apply? 

 
Agencies are reminded that all paid or unpaid leave (up to 12 weeks) during 
substance abuse treatment for either drugs or alcohol is qualifying under the 
Family  Medical  Leave  Act,  provided  the  employee's  condition  meets  the 
definition of a "serious health condition." 

 
As  it  relates  to  treatment  for  substance  abuse,  "serious  health  condition", 
means  an  illness,  injury,  impairment,  or  physical  or  mental  condition  that 
involves either: 

 
any period of incapacity or treatment connected w ith inpatient care (i.e., 
an  overnight stay) in  a  hospital, hospice, or residential medical-care facility, 
and any period of incapacity or subsequent treatment in connection with such 
inpatient care; or 

 

 

continuing treatment by a health care provider which includes any period 
of incapacity (i.e., inability to work, attend school or perform other regular daily 
activities) due to: 
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A health condition (including treatment therefor, or recovery therefrom) lasting more 
than three consecutive days, and any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity 
relating to the same condition, that also includes: 

 
treatment two or more times by or under the supervision of a health care provider; 
or 

one treatment by a health care provider with a continuing regimen of treatment 
 
 
 

The   agency  should   take   all   necessary  steps,   including  proper  notification  to   the 
employee that time off for treatment will be counted as   FMLA leave, to capture that time off 
toward the employee's 12- w e e k  entitlement.  Even if the employee is in unpaid status, 
the FMLA  requires  that  the  State  continue  medical  insurance  benefits  until  the  employee 
exhausts  his/her  12-week  FMLA  leave.  Should  the  employee  fail  to complete the substance 
abuse treatment program or otherwise fail to return to work, the State may recoup the premium 
payments made on the employee's behalf from the employee's last paycheck. 
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4.     What Happens When the Alcohol Test Result is between .02 and 

.0399? 
 

 

Any employee who tests at or above .02% and below .04% for alcohol shall be immediately 
removed from duty until the start of the employee's next scheduled shift or for 24 hours, 
whichever is greater.  While the employee is removed from duty, the employee may use any 
accrued leave or compensatory time at the employee's option or be placed in a leave without 
pay status if accrued leave or compensatory time is not available.       Agencies may impose 
appropriate     progressive     discipline     in accordance with their agency discipline grid for 
employees  who   test between .02% and .0399% BAC.   The employee does not need to be 
evaluated by a SAP  or  undergo  substance  abuse  treatment but  must  be  removed  from 
duty until the beginning of the employee's next full shift (but no sooner than twenty-four hours). 

 
a.   Summary checklist 

 

The following is a summary of the procedures to follow when an employee has tested between 

.02 and .0399 for alcohol. 
 

 

b. Procedures 

 
Any time an agency is notified that an employee has tested between .02 and .0399 for an 
alcohol test (or if the agency has reason to order a post-accident or reasonable suspicion 
test) the employee must be barred from using a state vehicle.    Although employees may be 
provided a state vehicle to report for a random alcohol test, the agency must retrieve the 
vehicle  and  transport  the  employee  back  to  the  workplace  if  the employee  has  tested 
between .02 and .0399 for alcohol. 

 
1.  Removal from duties 

 
The employee is removed from his or her duties until the start of the employee's next 
scheduled shift or for 24 hours, whichever is greater. 

 
2.  Discipline 

 
Agencies may impose   appropriate   progressive   discipline   in accordance with their 
agency discipline grid. 

 

c.   Designation of Leave 

 
1.  How should the employee's pay status be designated? 

 

 

While the employee is removed from duty, the employee may use any accrued leave or 
compensatory time at the employee's option or be placed in a leave without pay status if 
accrued leave or compensatory time is not available. 
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IV.  MEDICAL MARIJUANA 

 

 
 

 

V.  Work Rule  

 
 

 
A.  Work Rule 

 
 
 

All agencies should have a work rule which prohibits covered employees from off-duty use of 
drugs or alcohol which impairs their ability to perform their duties, and which addresses the 
consequences of testing positive. 

 
We  would recommend the following w ork rule: 

 
"...other actions that could compromise or impair the ability of the 
employee to carry out his/her duties" 

 

 
 

As with any other agency rule, it is important that this rule, as well as its consequences, be 
communicated to all employees.     Additionally, it should be made clear to employees that 
refusing to take a test or actions which may impede or delay the testing process (including the 
employee's failure to produce his/her Commercial Drivers License) is considered 
insubordination and is treated as a positive test.  In these instances, the employee should be 
charged with insubordination, as well as violating the agencies rule against actions that would 
"compromise or impair the ability of the employee to carry out his/her duties." The 
agency's rules  should  also  specify what  discipline  is  being waived or held  in  abeyance 
pending successful completion of a substance abuse program. 
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VI.      LAST CHANCE AGREEMENT 
 
 
 
 

 

Last chance agreements shall not be effective for longer than five (5) years, except in the following 
situations, in which case the last chance agreement shall be for an unlimited duration: 

 
any accident involving a fatality; 

any accident in which the driver is cited and there is damage to the vehicle(s) 
requiring tow-away; or 

any accident in  which  the driver is  cited and off-site medical treatment is 
required. 
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DRUG FREE WORKPLACE 

LAST CHANCE AGREEMENT 
 

 

I,                                     (Hereafter the employee) hereby acknowledge that 

in  my  position  as                                 ,  with  the     

(Hereinafter the employer) I am subject to the provisions set forth under Drug 

Free Workplace Policy in accordance with the Federal Omnibus Testing Act, 

Employer's Drug Free Workplace Policy, and/or Collective Bargaining 

Agreement. 
 

The  employee  affirms  that  he/she has  been charged with  violating the 

Employer's Drug Free Work Place Policy and received a pre-disciplinary 

conference  or  waived  meeting  on  these  charges.    The  employee  also 

agrees that the alleged offense is in violation of the Department's work 

rules and/or Collective Bargaining Agreement.  Absent this agreement, the 

Department would otherwise confer the discipline of termination. 
 

The parties agree that the employee's discharge will be held in abeyance 

contingent upon the employee's successful completion of the following 

requirements: 
 

1. The employee will be referred to a Substance Abuse Professional by the 
Employee Assistance Program. The employee will submit to and 
cooperate in a substance abuse evaluation by that individual. 

 

 

2. The employee must complete a substance abuse treatment program 
and be   approved   to   return   to   work   by   the   Substance   Abuse 
Professional. Said program of treatment will be prescribed by the 
Substance Abuse Professional and he/she must certify the successful 
completion of that program to the employer in writing. 

 

 

3. The employee must agree to execute any and all releases of medical 
and other information required by the Ohio EAP and/or the employer which 
are necessary for the employer to review and evaluate the employee's 
substance abuse evaluation and treatment program and the employee's 
participation in same. Any subsequent revocation of such release by the  
employee  may be  considered  by the  employer  as  a breach of this 
agreement. 
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4. The employee must pass a return to duty drug and/or alcohol test which 
has been identified as such to the employee prior to being permitted to 
return to work.  This  test  must  be scheduled by the employer and a 
negative result must be received prior to returning to duty.    A positive drug 
and/or .02 or above alcohol return to duty test result will initiate the original 
removal order. 

 

 

5. After his/her return to work, the employee must continue to strictly follow 
all directives and substance abuse treatment programs required by the 
Substance Abuse Professional. 

 

 

6. The employee must not violate any Departmental rule or policy relating 
to drug or alcohol use, or the terms of this agreement. The length of this 
agreement shall be: Five (5) years. 

 

 

7. The employee understands that all return to duty and follow-up drug test 
are subject to direct observation procedures and failure of the employee 
to permit any part of the direct observation procedure will be considered 
a  refusal  to  test.    All  follow-up  drug  and/or  alcohol  tests  must  be 
negative.  A  positive  drug  and/or  .02 or  above  alcohol follow-up  test 
result will initiate the original removal order. 

 

 

8. Any positive drug test and/or alcohol test .02 or above will be a violation 
of the last chance agreement and will initiate the original removal order. 

 

 

9. This agreement and fo l low-up schedule will be extended by a period 
equal to employee leaves of fourteen (14) consecutive days or longer, 
except for approved periods of vacation leave. 

 

 
 

It is agreed by the parties that the employee shall be considered on an unpaid 

leave of absence (or the employee can use accrued leave) until such 

time that he/she returns to work under the above conditions or 180 calendar 

days whichever is shorter. Should the employee fail to properly be certified to 

return to work by the Substance Abuse Professional and return to work within 

180 calendar days he/she shall be terminated from employment.  Should the 

employee not cooperate fully with the directive of the Substance Abuse 

Professional or fail to return to work, the employer may   terminate   his/her   

employment   and   seek   repayment,   from   the employee's last paycheck, 

of any medical premium paid on his/her behalf during their period of unpaid 

leave. 
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The employee further understands and agrees that upon his/her return to 

work he/she will be subject to not less than six (6) random drug and/or alcohol 

follow-up tests for up to one year and that further random drug and/or 

alcohol follow-up testing may be ordered by the Substance Abuse 

Professional for up to five years. It is also agreed that the employee shall 

be  responsible  for  payment  (within  three  (3) days)  for  the  amount  the 

employer is charged for any return to duty or follow-up test. 
 

If during the duration of the Agreement, the employee violates this Last 

Chance Agreement or any subsequent agreement made between the 

employee and the Substance Abuse Professional or the EAP, if the employee 

is found in violation of the employer's drug and alcohol policies, if  the  

employee  refuses  to  submit  to  a  drug  and/or  alcohol  test,  the employee 

will be subject to termination from employment. Although the employee will 

be charged separately for this second offense and afforded a pre-disciplinary 

meeting before the employer confers discipline, it is understood by the 

employee that any grievance arising out of his/her discipline shall have the 

scope of the arbitration limited to the question of whether or not the 

employee did indeed violate the conditions set forth above  and  the  parties  

acknowledge  the  waiver  of  the contractual  due process rights to the extent 

contained herein. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Employee                                                                      Date 

Employer Representative                                             Date 

Union Representative/Witness (if applicable)              Date 



42 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

VII. APPENDICES 
 

 

Definitions 
 
 

Ohio EAP Questions and 
 
 

Answers 
 

 

Applicant Testing Designated Positions 
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Definitions 
 
 
 

Agency  means  any  office,  department,  commission,  board,  institution  or  facility in  the 
executive branch of government. 

 

 

Alcohol means the intoxicating agent in beverage alcohol, ethyl alcohol, or other low 

molecular weight alcohols including methyl and isopropyl alcohol. 
 

 

Alcohol concentration (or content) means the alcohol in a volume of breath expressed in terms 

of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath as indicated by an evidential breath test. 
 

 

Alcohol use means the consumption of any beverage, mixture, or preparation, including any 

medication, containing alcohol. 
 

 

Applicant testing means    drug testing of final applicants for positions in state service who 
have  tentatively  met  all  relevant  employment  criteria  but  have  not  been  officially  offered 
employment with the state.      For federal testing, applicant testing means drug testing of final 
applicants,  both  within  and  outside  state  service,  for  positions  covered  by  federal  testing 
regulations. 

 

 

Chain of  custody means procedures to  ensure the  integrity of  each  specimen for drug 

testing by tracking its storage from point of collection to final disposition. 
 

 

Collection site means a place designated by the testing laboratory where individuals present 

themselves for the purpose of providing a specimen to be analyzed for the presence of drugs. 
 

 

Commerce means: 

(1) Any trade, traffic or transportation within the jurisdiction of the United States between a 
place in a State and a place outside of such State, including a place outside of the United States, 
and 

(2) Trade, traffic, and transportation in the United States which affects any trade, traffic, and 
transportation described in paragraph (1) of this definition. 

 

 

Commercial motor vehicle means a motor vehicle or combination of motor vehicles used in 

commerce to transport passengers or property if the motor vehicle- 

(1) Has a gross combination weight rating of 11,794 or more kilograms (26,001 or more 
pounds) inclusive of a towed unit with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 4,536 kilograms 
(10,000 pounds); or 

(2) Has a gross vehicle weight rating of 11,794 or more kilograms (26,001 or more pounds); 
or 

(3) Is designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver; or 
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(4) Is of any size and is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for 
the purposes of the Federal Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor 
vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F). 

 

 

Confirmation test for alcohol testing means a second test, following a screening test with a 
result of 0.02 or greater, that provides quantitative data of alcohol concentration.    For controlled 
substances testing it means a second analytical procedure to identify the presence of a specific 
drug or metabolite which is independent of the screen test and which uses a different technique 
and chemical principle from that of the screen test in order to ensure reliability and accuracy.  (Gas 
chromatography/mass spectrometry (Ge/MS)  is the  only  authorized  confirmation    method  for 
cocaine, marijuana, opiates, amphetamines, and phencyclidine.) 

 

 

Controlled  substances  for  State  of  Ohio  or  Federal  OOT  drug  testing,  mean  those 

substances identified in the Department of Health and Human Services’ drug testing panel. 
 

 

Disabling damage means damage which precludes departure of a motor vehicle from the 

scene of the accident in its usual manner in daylight after simple repairs. 
 

(1) Inclusions.   Damage to motor vehicles that could have been driven, but would have 

been further damaged if so driven. 

(2) Exclusions. 
(I) Damage which can be remedied temporarily at the scene of the accident without special 

tools or parts. 
(ii) Tire disablement without other damage even if no spare tire is available. 
(iii) Headlight or taillight damage. 
(iv) Damage to turn signals, horn, or windshield wipers which make them inoperative. 

 

 

Driver means any person who operates a commercial motor vehicle.   This includes, but is 
not limited to:      Full time, regularly employed drivers; casual, intermittent or occasional drivers; 
leased drivers and independent, owner-operator contractors who are either directly employed by or 
under lease to an employer or who operate a commercial motor vehicle at the direction of or with 
the consent of an employer. 

 

 

Drug test means a chemical test administered for the purpose of determining the presence 

or absence of a drug or metabolites in a person’s bodily fluids. 
 

 

Employee  means  any  person   holding  a   position   subject  to   appointment,  removal, 

promotion, or reduction by an appointing officer who is paid by warrant of the auditor of state. 
 
Employer means any person (including the United States, A State, District of  Columbia, tribal 
government, or a political subdivision of a State) who owns or leases a commercial motor vehicle 
or assigns persons to operate such a vehicle.  The term employer includes an employer’s agents, 
officers and representatives. 
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Follow-Up  testing  means  testing  ordered  as  a  result  of  an  employee’s  having  tested 
positive, in violation of an employee’s work policy or federal drug testing regulations, on a prior 
reasonable suspicion, random, or post-accident test. 

 

 

Licensed medical practitioner means a person who is licensed, certified, and/or registered, 
in accordance with applicable Federal, State, local, or foreign laws and regulations, to prescribe 
controlled substances and other drugs. 

 

 

Medical review officer means a person meeting U.S. Department of  Health and Human 
Services requirements to evaluate all positive test results together with a person’s medical history 
and other relevant biomedical information. 

 

 

Performing (a safety-sensitive function) means a driver is considered to be performing a 

safety-sensitive function during any period in which he or she is actually performing, ready to 
perform, or immediately available to perform any safety-sensitive functions. 

 

 

Positive test result means a test result that was positive on an initial USDHHS approved 
immunoassay test, confirmed by a gas chromatography/mass spectrometry assay (or other 
USDHHS confirmatory test(s) meeting National Institute on Drug Abuse, and reviewed and verified 
by a medical review officer, or a breath test for alcohol administered by the state patrol or a person 
qualified under rule 3701-53-07 of the Administrative Code or a breath test administered by a 
facility meeting USDHHS requirements, which equals or exceeds USDHHS positive test threshold 
levels. 

 

 

Post-accident testing means testing ordered for employees cited for their involvement in an 
accident which resulted in disabling damage and tow away of the involved vehicles, or off -site 
medical treatment for persons involved in the accident. 

 

 

Prescription means a written or  oral  order  for a  controlled substance for the  use of  a 
particular person given by a practitioner in the course of professional practice and in accordance 
with the regulations promulgated by the director of the United States Drug Enforcement 
Administration pursuant to the federal drug abuse control laws. 

 
Random testing means a testing process in which participants are selected by a computer- 

driven random selection process for unannounced controlled substances and alcohol testing. 
 

 

Reasonable suspicion testing means alcohol or other drug testing based on a belief that an 

employee is using or has used drugs in violation of the employer’s policy drawn from specific 
objective and documentable facts and reasonable inferences drawn from those facts. 

 

 

Refuse to submit (to an alcohol or controlled substances test) means that an employee: 
 

(A) Fails to provide adequate breath for alcohol testing, without a valid medical explanation, 
after he or she has received notice of the requirement for breath testing in accordance 
with state or federal testing requirements. 
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(2) Fails to provide an adequate urine sample for controlled substances testing, without a 
genuine inability to provide a specimen (as determined by a medical evaluation), after he or she 
has received notice of the requirement for urine testing in accordance with State or Federal testing 
requirements. 

 
(3) Engages in conduct that clearly obstructs the testing process. 

 

 

Return-to-Duty testing means testing which is ordered as a condition for an employee’s 

return-to-duty or resumption of safety-sensitive duties. 
 

 

Safety-sensitive functions for Federal testing means all time from the time a driver begins to 
work or is required to be in readiness to work until the time he/she is relieved from work and all 
responsibility for performing work. Safety-sensitive functions include: 

 
(1) All time at an employer or shipper plant, terminal, facility, or other property, or on any 

public property, waiting to be dispatched, unless the driver has been relieved form duty by the 
employer; 

(2) All time inspecting equipment as required federal regulations, or otherwise inspecting, 
servicing, or conditioning any commercial motor vehicle at any time; 

(3) All time spent at the driving controls of a commercial motor vehicle in operation; 
(4) All time, other than driving time, in or upon any commercial motor vehicle except time 

spent resting in a sleeper berth 
(5)  All  time  loading  or  unloading a  vehicle,  supervising, or  assisting in  the  loading or 

unloading, attending a vehicle being loaded or unloaded, remaining in readiness to operate the 
vehicle, or in giving or receiving receipts for shipments loaded or unloaded; and 

(6) All time repairing, obtaining assistance, or remaining in attendance upon a disabled 
vehicle. 

 
Screening  test  (also  known  as  initial  test)  In  alcohol  testing,  it  means  an  analytical 

procedure to determine whether a driver may have a prohibited concentration of alcohol in his or 
her  system.    In  controlled  substance  testing,  it  means an  immunoassay screen  to  eliminate 
“negative” urine specimens from further consideration. 

 
Specimen means a tissue or product of the human body chemically capable of revealing the 

presence of drugs in the human body. 
 

Substance means alcohol or drugs. 
 

Substance abuse professional means a licensed physician (Medical Doctor or Doctor of 
Osteopathy),  or   a   licensed   or   certified  psychologist,  social   worker,   employee  assistance 
professional, or addiction counselor (certified by the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug 
Abuse  Counselors Certification  Commission) with  knowledge  of  and  clinical experience in  the 
diagnosis and treatment of alcohol and controlled substances-related disorders. 

 
Workplace means a state owned or utilized premise for official state business or any place 

where official state business is conducted. 



47 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

Ohio EAP 
 
 

 

The Ohio Employee Assistance Program is a screening, information, referral and support service 
for state  employees  and their  family members.    The Ohio EAP  is  designed  to  help  service 
recipients cope with personal problems such as family and parenting issues, alcohol and other 
drug  abuse,  emotional concerns such  as  anxiety,  anger,  grief,  or  depression, and  legal  and 
financial difficulties. 

 
The Ohio EAP is supported by both labor and management.   It has served state employees and 
their families since 1984. 

 
Eligibility 

 

All current, disabled or retired state of Ohio employees and their families are eligible to participate. 
 
Service Provided 

 

• Staff members are available to discuss employee concerns and problems, to help in 
locating an attorney, a financial advisor, a support group, or to make referrals to 
mental health professionals for ongoing counseling. 

 
• Consultation services are available when an employee has concerns about a family 

member, a friend or a coworker who may be experiencing personal problems. 
 

• Critical Incident Stress Debriefings are arranged and facilitated by the Ohio EAP staff 
following traumatic events, such as death or serious injury of a co-worker. 

 
• Intervention Services for Organizations in Transition are provided for agencies and 

institutions that are undergoing reorganization or downsizing. 
 

• Training is conducted throughout state government on a variety of topics including 
Workplace Violence Prevention, Drug-Free Workplace, Stress Management, and the 
contractually-required EAP Referral Training for Supervisors and Union 
Representatives. 

Advocacy is also provided with the managed mental health care provider, should it be needed. 

Confidentiality 
 

The Ohio EAP ensures strict confidentiality as governed by state law (Ohio Revised Code section 
3701.041) and federal regulations to protect clients.   No information regarding an employee’s 
participation in EAP is released unless the employee authorizes it in writing. 
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Costs 
 

The Ohio EAP is part of  the employee benefit package and there is no charge for using this 
service.  If a referral is made for ongoing counseling the employee may be responsible for a small 
co-payment for each session. 

 
Contacting the EAP 

 

The Ohio Employee Assistance Program (EAP) can be contacted by calling 1-800-221-6327. This 
is a statewide toll-free call. Within Franklin county, call (614) 644-8545. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



49 
 

 
 

 
 

 

Questions and Answers 
 
 

 

A. Must a current employee moving into a position covered by federal testing regulations 
undergo a pre-employment test? 

 

A. Yes, if he/she is not already in a position requiring federal testing. 
 
 
 

2.       Is time spent in testing “on-duty” time? 
 

A. Yes 
 
 
 

3.        Does a refusal to test have the same consequences as a positive test? 
 

A. Yes 
 
 
 

4.        If an employee selected for a random drug test is inadvertently given an alcohol test instead 
(or vice versa), can the alcohol test be considered a valid test if it is negative? 

 

A. No. 
 
 
 

5.       W hat should an agency do if an employee goes to a collection site but refuses to sign the 
chain of custody form? 

 

A. Inform the employee that such a refusal would constitute a refusal to test and 
would have the disciplinary consequences of a positive test result. 

 
 
 

6.        Does the employee pay for return-to-duty and follow-up tests? 
 

A. Yes 
 
 
 

7.       What  happens  when  an  employee  experiences  “shy  bladder”  (inability  to  produce  a 
specimen) at the collection site? 

 

A. Federal regulations permit the employee to consume up to 40 oz. of liquids 
over a 3-hour period to produce a suitable specimen. 
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8.        An employee was attending a conference at the time his supervisor received notice from 
the agency drug testing coordinator that a random test was required.     Is the employee 
exempted from the test? 

 
A. For federal random testing, the employee must be tested on the first occasion 

when he/she returns to work.    For state random testing, the employee will be 
tested during the designated testing cycle. 

 
 
 

9.        An  employee’s  drug  test  has  been  ruled  positive  by  the  MRO  and  has  been  found 
positive after a retest by another laboratory.  Can the employee request still another retest 
by a laboratory of his/her choice? 

 
A. No. 

 
 
 

10.     Are the results of an employee’s federal tests a matter of public record? 
 

A. No. 
 
 
 

11.     Is the employee entitled to a copy of his/her test results? 

 
A. Yes. 

 
 
 

 
12.     Can the employee instruct the Employer to release copies of his/her test results? 

 
A. Yes,  provided the  release  by  the  Employer is  authorized in  writing by  the 

employee. 
 
 
 

13.     What is the time limit beyond which a drug test cannot be done? 
 

A. Thirty-two (32) hours.   Random tests must be done promptly when ordered. 
Reasonable suspicion, rebuttable presumption and post-accident drug tests 

cannot be done beyond 32 hours after the triggering incident or accident.   All 
tests should, as a matter of practice, be done promptly. 

 
 
 

14.      An employee covered by federal testing regulations is involved in an accident involving tow- 
away of the state vehicle he/she was driving.  The employee was not cited for the accident. 
Would a post-accident test be performed? 

 
A. No.  The employee must be cited as a condition for the post-accident test. 
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15.     An employee was involved in an accident, a citation was issued, but no test was done. 
What should the agency do? 

 
A. A test done by law enforcement or an agency having legal authority to perform 

an alcohol or drug test after an accident can be used if it can be obtained.   If 
not, documentation must be prepared and kept on record as to why no test 
was done. 

 
 
 

16.     A collection site sent an agency employee’s specimen to a local hospital lab for analysis. 
The agency has received the results. Are they valid? 

 
A. No.  Only results resulting from analysis by a Department of Health and Human 

Services-certified laboratory are acceptable. 
 
 
 

17.       An employee was given an alcohol test by a supervisor skilled in the eye-nystagmus test 
process. Is this valid? 

 
A. No, only breath alcohol tests are used in Ohio’s compliance with federal or 

state alcohol testing regulations. 
 
 
 

18.      A former  employee  has requested  that  an  agency release  federal  drug  test  results  it 
conducted on the employee to a prospective employer. Must the agency comply? 

 
A. Yes.  The agency may also charge a reasonable fee for retrieving, copying and 

transmitting the requested records. 
 
 
 

19.      An employee is taken to a collection site for a reasonable suspicion alcohol test, tests 
positive on the initial test, but negative on the confirmation test.   Can the initial positive be 
used as the official result? 

 
A. No.  The confirmation test, in both alcohol and drug testing, is always the test 

of record 
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