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Welcome to the spring edition of Pathways to myBenefits. 
We’ve expanded the name from Pathways to emphasize that 

the mission of the magazine is to help you better understand your 
health care benefits.

This edition focuses on the benefits Open Enrollment period 
being held April 25 through May 16. Any eligible employees who 
currently are not enrolled or who need to make changes to medical, 
dental, vision, supplemental life or dependent coverage can do so 
during Open Enrollment. 

Another highlight is information about the incentives available 
for this coming benefit year through the state’s Take Charge! Live 
Well! health and wellness program. Employees and their enrolled 
spouses may each earn $100 by completing a health assessment 
and biometric screening. Based on biometric results, claims data 
or health assessment results, qualified employees and spouses may 
each earn up to $100 more by participating in coaching sessions 
regarding weight management, disease management or tobacco 
cessation. 
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welcome to...

myBenefits
Open Enrollment
This year’s Open Enrollment period has been expanded to three weeks, 
from April 25 to May 16, to provide employees with additional time 
to evaluate and research the benefits changes effective July 1, 2011.  
Following is some helpful information for you to review prior to Open 
Enrollment.

Employees and their dependents who currently are enrolled in 
medical coverage do not need to take any action to continue 
coverage into the next benefit year, which begins July 1. You will 
be placed in the Ohio Med PPO plan and assigned a third-party 
administrator, Medical Mutual or United Healthcare, based on 
your home ZIP code. Your other coverage, such as dental, vision 
and supplemental life, will remain the same unless you elect to 
make changes.

Any eligible employees who currently are not enrolled or who need 
to make changes to medical, dental, vision, supplemental life and 
dependent coverage can do so during Open Enrollment, which is 
being held from Monday, April 25 through Monday, May 16. 

Dependents who are enrolled in your medical, dental and vision plans 
should be reviewed during Open Enrollment. This is an opportunity 

to ensure that they still meet the eligibility requirements of a 
dependent. See the requirements at: 
das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements.

All choices made during Open Enrollment will become effective 
July 1. You will not have another opportunity to enroll yourself or 
eligible dependents for benefits or make changes to your elections 
until the next Open Enrollment unless you have a qualifying life 
event, such as marriage, divorce or the birth or adoption of a child. 
For a list of qualifying events, go to: das.ohio.gov/qualifyingevents.  

Starting on Page 17, you will find enrollment instructions, contact 
information, a glossary of common benefits terms and required legal 
notices related to your benefits.

What’s new?
The chart below provides a summary of the key changes for the next 
benefit year. 

Changes for the 2011-2012 Benefits Plan Year

Third-Party Administrator (TPA) change All employees electing coverage will be enrolled in the Ohio Med PPO plan. Check the ZIP code chart 
on Page 6 to see your assigned plan administrator.

Patient Protection and 
Affordable Care Act 
(Federal Health Care Reform)

Extended Dependent Coverage - Federal health care reform provides that all dependent children 
younger than age 26 may be covered under their parent’s health care coverage. Please see chart on 
Page 5 for additional clarification of requirements and changes.

Extended Enrollment Period - Employees may request enrollment for children younger than age 26 
from April 25 through May 25 for coverage effective July 1.

Extended Preventive Benefits -
•	 See Page 9 for a list of free exams, screenings and immunizations. 
•	 See Page 12 for preventive medications covered at no charge.

Please refer to: healthcare.gov/law/about/provisions/services/lists.html 
for the expanded list of all covered benefits.

Lifetime Maximum - There are no longer lifetime maximum limits for health coverage.

Medical rates Employee deductions beginning the pay period that includes July 1 can be found on Page 8.

Please note: That the material in this edition of this publication is for informational 
purposes. It is intended only to highlight the main benefits, eligibility policies and 
coverage information. Every effort has been made to be as accurate as possible; however, 
should there be a difference between this information and the plan documents, the plan 
documents govern.

http://das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements
http://das.ohio.gov/qualifyingevents
http://healthcare.gov/law/about/provisions/services/lists.html 
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Eligibility for Benefits 

Employees
•	Medical – Most state employees are eligible to enroll in medical 

coverage (including prescription drug and behavioral health 
benefits) effective the first day of the month following their date 
of hire or during Open Enrollment. 

•	Dental and Vision – Exempt and union-represented employees 
are eligible to enroll in dental and vision coverage after 
completing one full year of continuous state service or thereafter 
during Open Enrollment. 

•	 Basic Life – Exempt and union-represented employees are 
eligible for basic life coverage after completing one full year of 
continuous state service. Enrollment is automatic. 

•	 Supplemental Life – Exempt and union-represented employees 
are eligible for coverage on their date of hire and have 90 days to 
enroll. Employees also may enroll or make changes during Open 
Enrollment.1 

Dependent Category Medical Dental Vision Supplemental life

Children younger 
than age 23

Coverage available for 
eligible dependents1

Coverage available for 
eligible dependents1

Coverage available for 
eligible dependents1

Coverage available for eligible 
dependents2

Children ages 23 - 25 Coverage available for 
eligible dependents1 No coverage available No coverage available No coverage available

Children ages 26 - 27 Coverage available for 
eligible HB1 dependents1 No coverage available No coverage available No coverage available

1View detailed eligibility and documentation requirements at: das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements.
2View eligibility requirements on Prudential enrollment form.

Note: When one of your enrolled dependents is or becomes ineligible for benefits coverage based on the state’s definition of eligibility, it is your responsibility to contact 
your agency benefits specialist (or human resources office) immediately to remove them from your coverage. Your dependent may be eligible to continue their medical, 
dental and/or vision benefits through the federal COBRA Act if you notify your agency benefits specialist (or human resources office) within 60 days after the qualifying 
event occurs. Enrollment or continuation of an ineligible dependent may result in loss of benefits, disciplinary action and/or repayment of claims.

Dependents
To view the detailed eligibility and documentation requirements for 
all dependents, visit: das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements.  

Note: To ensure that dependent documentation is processed prior 
to July 1, it is recommended that employees submit all required 
eligibility documentation for dependents by June 3. The final deadline 
to submit all required documentation is July 29. 

Due to various federal and state regulations regarding dependent 
children, including Ohio House Bill 1 (HB1) and federal  health care 
reform, please refer to the chart below for further guidance:

1Certain new enrollments or increases are subject to evidence of insurability. Coverage will 
begin the latter of either the first day of the month following your initial payroll deduction or 
after Prudential decides the evidence is satisfactory.

http://das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements
http://das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements
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3-DIGIT ZIP CODE BREAKDOWN

United Healthcare (UHC)

430xx 431xx 432xx 433xx 437xx 438xx 439xx 444xx

445xx 450xx 451xx 452xx 453xx 454xx 455xx 459xx

medical mutual

434xx 435xx 436xx 440xx 441xx 442xx 443xx

446xx 447xx 448xx 449xx 456xx 457xx 458xx

Appeals on third-party 
administrator assignment
To minimize potential 
disruptions in the medical care of 
employees and their dependents 
during the transition to the new 
third-party administrator, a 
one-time appeal is available to 
employees and their dependents 
to remain with their current 
doctors if certain requirements 
are met.  

Detailed information on the 
requirements for these appeals 
can be found on the Benefits 
Administration website at: 
das.ohio.gov/TPAappeals.

For answers to frequently asked 
questions about the assignment 
of your Ohio Med PPO third-
party administrator, please visit 
the Benefits Administration 
website at: das.ohio.gov/benefits.

As part of ongoing efforts to curb health care costs while retaining quality, the State of Ohio will offer one 
medical plan, the Ohio Med PPO plan, to employees and their dependents beginning July 1.  

The state has contracted with Medical Mutual and UnitedHealthcare (UHC) to serve as the third-party 
administrators for this plan. This change will allow all employees to have access to both network and non-
network providers. The PPO plan design includes several enhancements to current HMO benefits, such as 
unlimited visits for chiropractic services. Please see the chart on Page 7 for more information.

When you are enrolled in medical coverage, you automatically gain the prescription drug, behavioral health 
and Take Charge! Live Well! benefits.

Medical Mutual and UHC will each serve a specific region in Ohio based upon home ZIP codes. The 
administrator you will be assigned is based on the first three digits of your home ZIP code. Please review 
the charts below that feature the ZIP code breakdown by plan administrator. Employees with home ZIP 
codes outside Ohio will be enrolled in UHC.

Your Medical Coverage

How you can help control 
health care costs

The State of Ohio’s health plans are self-
funded. This means that the cost of your 
benefits is funded by the contributions from 
you and your agency. All benefit claims are 
paid for by these contributions. Your third-
party administrator does not pay for your claims. 
Rather, it reviews claims and processes payments for 
which it receives an administrative fee. When the 
amount of claims is greater than the amount of the 
contributions from employees and agencies, then 
your medical costs go up. It is up to each of us to 
use the benefits wisely. Do your part by staying 
healthy, evaluating your options when you need 
care and avoid unnecessary care.

http://das.ohio.gov/TPAappeals
http://das.ohio.gov/benefits
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Ohio med ppo (Bold denotes an improvement from the HMO plan design.)

  Out-of-pocket costs

Annual Deductible Network: $200 single, $400 family; out of network: $400 single, $800 family.

Your Copayments 
(Office Visits) Network: $20; out of network: $30.

Coinsurance Network: You pay 20%, plan pays 80%; out of network: You pay 40%, plan pays 60%.1

Your Out-of-Pocket
Maximum Network: $1,500 single, $3,000 family; out of network: $3,000 single, $6,000 family.2

Benefit/Service Coverage Levels

Chiropractic Care •	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network. 
•	 Unlimited visits.

Diagnostic, X-Ray and 
Lab Services •	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network.

Durable Medical 
Equipment •	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network.

Emergency Room •	 Covered at 80%; $75 copay, which is waived if patient is admitted; 60% out of network for non-emergency.

Hearing Loss (Accidental, 
Injury or Illness)      

•	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network.
•	 Exams and follow-ups are included in coverage.
•	 No lifetime maximum.

Home Health Care •	 Covered at 80% network; 60% out of network; limit of 100 visits or 180 days.

Hospice Services •	 Covered at 100% with no copay, time or dollar limitations. For both in and out of network.

Immunizations •	 Most are covered at 100% (see Page 9). For both in and out of network.

Infertility Testing •	 Covered at 80% after $20 copay, for in network; 60% and $30 copay out of network.
•	 Coverage includes testing only.

Inpatient and Outpatient 
Services •	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network.

Maternity - Delivery •	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network.

Maternity - 
Prenatal Care

•	 Office visits covered at 100% when billed separately from delivery; tests/procedures covered at 80% in network;                     
60% out of network.

Physical, Occupational 
and Speech Therapy

•	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network. 
•	 Unlimited visits.

Preventive Exams 
& Screenings

•	 Most preventive care covered at 100% (see Preventive Care chart on Page 9).
•	 Age restrictions may apply.

Skilled Nursing Facility •	 Covered at 80%; 180-day limit, additional days covered at 60%, for both in and out of network.

Urgent Care •	 $25 copay in network; $30 copay out of network.
•	 Covered at 80% in network; 60% out of network.

1 Plan pays 60% of Ohio Med’s benefit allowance and you pay any remaining balance. 
2 If your non-network provider charge is greater than the Ohio Med PPO allowance, your out-of-pocket costs will be more.
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part-Time Employee medical Deductions

Part-Time BiWeekly Deductions2 75% Tier Part-Time BiWeekly Deductions2 50% Tier

Employee Share State Share Total Employee Share State Share Total

Single $51.85 $155.11 $206.96 $103.48 $103.48 $206.96

Family Minus 
Spouse $142.20 $426.16 $568.36 $284.18 $284.18 $568.36

Family Plus 
Spouse1 $147.76 $426.16 $573.92 $289.74 $284.18 $573.92

Part-Time BiWeekly Deductions2 0% Tier

Employee Share State Share Total

Single $206.96 $0.00 $206.96

Family Minus 
Spouse $568.36 $0.00 $568.36

Family Plus 
Spouse1 $573.92 $0.00 $573.92

1 Family Plus Spouse rates above include a charge of $12.50 per month 
   to cover a spouse.
2 These rates represent the total amount that will be deducted from your paycheck,  
   including the communication surcharge.
Since the Ohio Med PPO is offered to all employees, there is no longer a 
component in the medical deductions for the difference in administrative fees.

Full-Time Employee medical Deductions

Full-Time / Biweekly-Paid Employee Deductions2 Full-Time / Monthly-Paid Employee Deductions2

Employee Share State Share Total Employee Share State Share Total

Single $31.20 $175.76 $206.96 $70.20 $395.45 $465.65

Family Minus 
Spouse $85.41 $482.95 $568.36 $192.17 $1,086.63 $1,278.80

Family Plus 
Spouse1 $90.97 $482.95 $573.92 $204.67 $1,086.63 $1,291.30

1 Family Plus Spouse rates above include a charge of $12.50 per month to cover a spouse.
2 These rates represent the total amount that will be deducted from your paycheck, including the communication surcharge.
Since the Ohio Med PPO is offered to all employees, there is no longer a component in the medical deductions for the difference in administrative fees.

Additional Rates
for Each HB1 Dependent

(for all enrolled employees)

Biweekly Deduction Amount: $85.43  

Monthly Deduction Amount: $192.22
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Note: This is not an all-inclusive list. Please refer to: 
healthcare.gov/law/about/provisions/services/lists.html for an exhaustive list of covered preventive care services.

Preventing and detecting disease early is important to living a healthy 
life. The better your health, the lower your health care costs are likely 
to be. One of the most important actions you can take for your 
health and your family’s health is to schedule regular check-ups and 
screenings with your primary care physician (PCP). 

Your State of Ohio health plan – Ohio Med PPO – offers the 
following services with no deductible, no copayment and no 

Preventive Care Screening – 
Stay Healthy, Save Money

coinsurance. Other services are available for the normal copayment, 
coinsurance and deductible amounts. 

Please note: Bold items in the charts below are newly covered 
beginning July 1.

Free Exams and Screenings

Bold text indicates newly covered exams/screenings beginning July 1

Clinical breast exam 1/plan year

Colonoscopy Every 10 years starting at age 50

Flexible sigmoidoscopy Every 10 years starting at age 50

Glucose 1/plan year

Gynecological Exam 1/plan year

Hemoglobin, hematocrit, or CBC 1/plan year

Lipid profile or total and 
HDL cholesterol 1/plan year

Mammogram 1 routine and 
1 medically necessary/plan year

Pre-natal office visits
As needed; based on physician’s 
ability to code claims separately 
from other maternity-related services

PSA 1/plan year starting at age 40

Stool for occult blood 1/plan year

Urinalysis 1/plan year

Well-baby, well-child exam Various for birth to 2 years; 
then annual to age 21

Well-person exam 
(annual physical) 1/plan year

Free Immunizations

Bold text indicates newly covered immunizations beginning July 1

Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis 
(DTap) 2/4/6/15-18 months; 4-6 years

Haemophilus influenza b (Hib) 2/4/6/12-15 months

Hepatitis A (HepA) 2 doses between 1-2 years

Hepatitis B (HepB) Birth; 1-2 months; 6-18 months

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) 3 doses for females age 9 through 
26 years

Influenza 1/plan year

Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) 12-15 months, then at 4-6 years; 
adults who lack immunity

Meningococcal (MCV4) 1 dose between 11-12 years or start 
of high school or college

Pneumococcal
2/4/6 months; 12-15 months; 
annually at age 65 and older; high 
risk groups

Poliovirus (IPEV) 2 and 4 months; 6-18 months; 4-6 
years

Rotavirus (Rota) 2/4/6 months

Tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis 
(Td/Tdap)

11-12 years; Td booster every 10 
years, 18 and older

Varicella (Chickenpox) 12-15 months; 4-6 years; 2 doses 
for adult susceptible

Zoster (shingles) 1 dose for age 19 +

http://healthcare.gov/law/about/provisions/services/lists.html
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Take Charge!
           Live Well!Beginning July 1, employees have the 
potential to earn more rewards for 
taking actions regarding their health. 
When you and your spouse are enrolled 
in State of Ohio medical coverage you 
are automatically enrolled in the Take 
Charge! Live Well! (TCLW) health and 
wellness program.

Taking responsibility for your health and 
staying healthy is the best strategy for keeping 
health care costs at a reasonable level.  

The Take Charge! Live Well! program is 
administered by APS Healthcare. For more 
information or to speak with a health coach, 
visit the program website at: ohio.gov/tclw or 
call 1.866.272.5507. 

Health Assessment – Earn $25 

Complete the 15-minute health risk 
questionnaire at: ohio.gov/tclw by Nov. 30 
and earn $25.  You will receive a customized 
report based on your responses.

Biometric Screening – 
Earn up to $75

What is a biometric screening?  

A biometric screening is a quick blood test 
that checks your total cholesterol, HDL level, 
blood glucose level, blood pressure and body 
mass index (BMI). These results can give you 
and your doctor a snapshot of your health 
and identify any health risks.

You can complete a biometric screening in 
two ways: you can get a screening from your 
doctor during an annual physical or at a 
worksite Take Charge! Live Well! road show. 

In order to complete the biometric screening 
through your doctor’s office, please go to: 
ohio.gov/tclw and print the Biometrics 
Physician Form. Give your doctor the form 
at your next physical exam and ask them to 
complete it with your test results. 

We also offer several worksite screenings 
each year throughout the state. For a list 
of worksite screenings close to you, please 
visit the worksite event calendar on the Take 
Charge! Live Well! website at: ohio.gov/tclw 
for dates.

If you or your spouse qualifies, you can 
each earn up to an additional $100 for 
participation in one of the targeted health 
coaching programs.  

To get started, contact APS Healthcare at 
1.866.272.5507 to sign up.

What should I expect?

Your first call with a health coach will take 
approximately 30 minutes. The health 
coach will give you a brief overview of the 
program, followed by a general assessment 
and education, and then you and your coach 
will set goals. After you complete the initial 
health coaching call, you will earn a $25 
incentive.  

If you complete three additional calls with 
a health coach (approximately 20 minutes 
each), you can earn another $75.

Please note: Incentives no longer will be 
offered for online lifestyle programs and 
health and wellness coaching.

http://ohio.gov/tclw
http://ohio.gov/tclw
http://ohio.gov/tclw
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Take Charge! Live Well!

Weight Management Coaching – earn Up to $100
If you or your spouse’s biometric screening or health care 
claims indicate that you have a Body Mass Index (BMI) 
of 30 or more, you are eligible to participate in weight 
management coaching.

What is BMI? It is a calculation based on your height 
and weight that can indicate your health risk. Research 
consistently shows that overweight people are at greater risk 
for several diseases. Use this program to get started!

Disease Management Coaching – Earn Up to $100
If you have been diagnosed with diabetes, congestive heart 
failure, coronary artery disease, asthma or chronic obstructive 
pulmonary disease, you are eligible to participate in a disease 
management program.

What is disease management?
Whether you are newly diagnosed or have lived with a 
condition for years, this program can help empower you to 
take charge of your health. Registered nurses can help you 
better understand your condition, understand medications 
and treatments that you have been prescribed and help you 
with any additional conditions you may have.

If you are actively working with an APS Healthcare health 
coach, you are eligible to receive free diabetic medications 
and supplies. Contact APS Healthcare at 1.866.272.5507 for 
additional information.

Everyone can earn $100

Health Assessment Completed by 
Nov. 30, 2011 $25

Biometric Screening Completed by
June 30, 2012 $75

Complete a health assessment or biometric screening and earn an 
additional $100 when identified for one of the following programs:

1st Coaching Call 4th Coaching Call
completed by June 30, 2012

Tobacco Cessation* $25 $75

Weight Management* $25 $75

Disease Management* $25 $75

*APS Healthcare will identify eligible employees and spouses based on biometric 
screening results, claims experience or health assessment results for these programs.  
For questions on whether you qualify, contact APS Healthcare at 1.866.272.5507.

Tobacco Cessation Coaching – earn Up to $100
If you or your spouse use tobacco and are ready to work on 
quitting, you can earn up to $100 for working with a health 
coach. Use of nicotine replacement therapy or prescription 
drugs along with counseling can significantly increase your 
chances of quitting. For additional information on covered 
nicotine pharmaceuticals, please visit: ohio.gov/tclw.  

Beginning July 1, participants in tobacco cessation coaching 
will be eligible for free nicotine pharmaceuticals.

http://ohio.gov/tclw
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To ensure all state employees receive the highest level of care and customer service, a single 
prescription drug vendor, Catalyst Rx, provides prescription drug benefits for all State of 
Ohio employees who are enrolled in the Ohio Med PPO plan.

Save Money – Use the 90-Day Mail-Order Program   
Using mail order for your ongoing maintenance medications is convenient and cost effective. 
Ordering your prescription medications through the Immediate Pharmaceutical Services (IPS) 
mail-order pharmacy will save you money on your copayments.

90-Day at Retail Program
If you do not want to use the mail-order program, you can receive a 90-day supply of 
medication at your local retail pharmacy.

Your
Prescription
Drug Benefits

Type of
Medication

30-Day supply 
at Retail 

Copayment

90-Day supply 
at Retail 

Copayment

90-Day supply 
at Mail Service 

Copayment

Generic $10 $30 $25

Preferred 
Brand-Name $25 $75 $62.50

Non-Preferred 
Brand-Name, 

Generic Unavailable
$50 $150 $125

Non-Preferred 
Brand-Name,

Generic Available

$50 plus the difference 
between the cost of 

the brand-name 
and generic drug

$150 plus the difference 
between the cost of

the brand-name 
and generic drug

$125 plus the difference 
between the cost of

the brand-name 
and generic drug

The amount charged to the individual for generic, preferred brand and non-preferred brand medications will 
not be greater than the actual cost of the medication. Therefore, the amount charged may be less than the 
flat-dollar copay.
Pharmacy copays do not apply toward medical plan deductibles and the annual out-of-pocket maximum.

Preventive medications
covered at no charge with a 
prescription effective July 1*.
Federal health care reform requires that 
certain preventive medications and 
treatments be covered at no charge effective 
July 1. These include:
•	Generic aspirin to prevent heart disease 

for men and women age 45 or older; 1 per 
day; generic only; requires prescription.

•	 Fluoride solution or tablets for children 
younger than the age of 5. Prescription 
products only.

•	Over-the-counter folic acid supplements 
for women age 55 or younger; 1 per day; 
requires prescription.

•	 Iron supplements for children up to 12 
months old; requires prescription.

*You must present your Catalyst Rx card to take 
advantage of these no-cost medications.

Specialty Drug
Management Program
Some specialized medications for serious 
medical conditions such as cancer, cystic 
fibrosis and rheumatoid arthritis must be 
obtained from Walgreens Specialty Pharmacy 
after your first fill. Your order may be shipped 
to your home, workplace or a local Walgreens 
for pickup. A description of the program and 
a list of specialty medications may be found 
on the Benefits Administration website 
at: das.ohio.gov/prescriptiondrug under 
“Important Prescription Drug Updates.”

Not all drugs are covered
Some drugs require the use of alternative 
medications before being approved.  This is 
known as “step therapy.” Examples include 
heartburn medications, drugs used for 
migraines, osteoporosis, nasal allergies, sleep 
disturbances, high blood pressure, atypical 
antipsychotics and antiviral medications such 
as Valtrex. Additional medications requiring 
step therapy may be added at any time. If this 
occurs, members currently using the affected 
drugs will be notified by mail. A description 
of the program and a list of medications 
are on the Benefits Administration website 
at: das.ohio.gov/prescriptiondrug under 
“Important Prescription Drug Updates.”

Nutritional supplements and specialized baby 
formulas are not a covered benefit.

http://das.ohio.gov/prescriptiondrug
http://das.ohio.gov/prescriptiondrug
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Specialized mental health and chemical dependency services are 
provided under a single program available to all employees and 
dependents enrolled in the state’s health plan. This program, 
administered by United Behavioral Health (UBH) and also known as 
OptumHealth Behavioral Solutions, provides 24-hours-a-day, seven-
days-a-week telephonic assessment and referral services for a variety of 
behavioral health issues, such as:

▪▪ Depression 
▪▪ Stress		
▪▪ Serious mental illnesses
▪▪ Marital and family issues 
▪▪ Alcohol and drug dependency 
▪▪ Anxiety

The program includes a disability component in which employees 
who require time off for behavioral health conditions have access to 
specialized providers on an expedited basis.

Out-of-Network Benefits
Effective July 1, all enrolled employees and their families, including 

former HMO enrollees, will have out-of-network behavioral 
health benefits. This means that you may seek treatment 
from any behavioral health provider that you wish; however, 
you will pay more if you do not use UBH participating 
providers and facilities.  

Your out-of-network office visit copayment will be $30 
instead of $20 and your provider may balance bill you 

for the difference between their charge and what UBH 
allows.

Inpatient services will be paid at 60 percent of the 
UBH allowed amount instead of 80 percent and you 
may be balance billed for the difference between the 
facility charge and what UBH allows.  

Copayments, deductibles and coinsurance must 
be shared and combined with your medical plan 
pursuant to federal mental health parity requirements. 
If you receive mental health services prior to meeting 

your medical plan deductible, you may need to pay for 
these services up to the deductible amount before your plan 

starts paying. This does not apply to routine office visits for which you 
only pay an office visit copayment.

Behavioral 
Health 
Benefits
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The state pays the full cost for you and your eligible dependents (children 
younger than age 23) to participate in the dental and vision plans. The 
state also pays the full cost for you to participate in the basic life plan. 
Employees are eligible to participate in these programs after one year of 
continuous state service.
	
Exempt Dental Plan
If you are an exempt employee, regardless of where you live, you can 
choose to participate in either the Delta Dental PPO or the Delta 
Dental Premier plan offered through Delta Dental of Ohio. When 
you participate in either of the dental plans, you can go to the dentist 
of your choice and receive benefits. However, you will generally pay 
less when you go to a dentist who belongs to the Delta Dental PPO 
or Delta Dental Premier network. When making your coverage 
selection, be sure to check with your dentist to determine whether he/
she belongs to the network. See Page 15 to view a plan comparison 
chart or Page 18 for plan contact information.  

Print Your Delta Dental Card Online
Upon enrollment in a dental plan, you are not provided with a Delta 
Dental card. However, if you would like a card to present to your 
dentist, you may obtain one through Delta Dental’s website. Once you 
have enrolled in a dental plan, visit: deltadentaloh.com and click on 
“Consumer Toolkit.” Complete the login process and click on “Print 
ID Card.”

Exempt Vision Plan
Eligible exempt employees have the option of enrolling in the Vision 
Service Plan (VSP) or the EyeMed Vision Care plan. See Page 15 to 
view a plan comparison chart or Page 18 for plan contact information.

Did you know?
A primary difference between vision plans is the provider network. 
Be sure to check with your vision provider to determine whether your 
provider belongs to the VSP Signature network or EyeMed Vision 
Care’s Select network. Check with each plan for a complete provider 
list. Turn to Page 18 for plan contact information.

Exempt Basic Life Insurance (Through The Standard)
The State of Ohio provides basic life insurance, including an 
accidental death and dismemberment benefit for work-related injuries, 
free of charge to all eligible exempt employees who have one year of 
continuous state service. This benefit is equal to one times your annual 

salary rounded to the nearest $1,000, is provided at no cost to you, 
and enrollment is automatic.   

The IRS requires that employees be taxed on the value of employer 
paid group life insurance coverage exceeding $50,000. This is known 
as “imputed income.” If your annual rate (and thus your group life 
insurance) exceeds $50,000 per year, the tax you owe on the value 
of the coverage that exceeds $50,000 is reported to the IRS in Box 
12 of your year-end W-2 form. The tax is based upon employee age 
brackets on the last day of the calendar year and increases in five-
year increments as you grow older. Turn to Page 16 for the imputed 
income rate table.

Exempt Supplemental Life Insurance (Through Prudential)
Exempt employees are eligible for supplemental life insurance 
coverage. When you enroll in supplemental life insurance coverage, 
you also may elect life insurance for your eligible dependents. The 
amount you contribute toward your supplemental and dependent life 
coverage is deducted from your paycheck. 

For Yourself
When you purchase supplemental life coverage for the first time, you 
may elect up to two times your basic annual earnings or $150,000, 
whichever is less, without providing proof of good health. You 
may elect up to six times your basic annual earnings or $500,000, 
whichever is less, with acceptable proof of good health. Elections must 
be made in $10,000 increments.

For Your Spouse
You can purchase supplemental life insurance for your spouse in 
$10,000 increments up to $40,000. Spousal coverage in excess of 
$10,000 requires your spouse to provide proof of good health.

For Your Dependent Children 
You may purchase $7,000 of life coverage for each of your eligible 
dependent children younger than age 23 at a rate of $0.99 cents 
per month regardless of how many children you cover. You are 
responsible for dropping your dependent’s coverage when your child 
reaches age 23.

See Page 16 for the rate chart.

Beneficiary Forms (Exempt Basic and Supplemental Life Insurance)
If you have misplaced your beneficiary form or do not know who is 
currently designated as your beneficiary, the simplest solution is to 
complete a new beneficiary form. 

Beneficiary forms for The Standard and Prudential are available in the 
forms section of the Benefits Administration website at: 
das.ohio.gov/healthcareforms.

Union-Represented Employees
Union-represented employees receive dental, vision, life and legal plan 
benefits through Union Benefits Trust (UBT). The UBT Enrollment 
Guide will be mailed to union members’ homes the week of April 
18. The guide includes enrollment/change forms for dental, vision 
and legal plans. A separate “Supplemental Life Enrollment Kit” 
from Prudential will arrive during the same period and will include 
information on supplemental life, rates and an enrollment form.

Exempt
Dental, 
Vision and 
Life Insurance 
Benefits

http://deltadentaloh.com
http://das.ohio.gov/healthcareforms
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exempt dental plan

                                                        Plan 1: Delta Dental PPO Plan 2: Delta Dental Premier

Delta Dental 
PPO Dentist

Delta Dental 
Premier Dentist

Non-Delta 
Dental Dentist

Delta Dental 
Premier Dentist

Non-Delta 
Dental Dentist

Annual Maximum $1,500 $1,000 $1,000* $1,500 $1,500*

Class 1: Diagnostic & Preventive 
Services 100% 100% 100%* 100% 100%*

Class 2: Basic Restorative 
Services (e.g., fillings) 100% 65% 65%* 65% 65%*

Class 3: Major Restorative 
Services (e.g., crowns; bridges) 60% 50% 50%* 50% 50%*

Class 4: Orthodontia 50% up to $1,500 
Lifetime maximum

50% up to $1,500 
Lifetime maximum

50%* up to $1,500 
Lifetime maximum

50% up to $1,500  
Lifetime maximum

50%* up to $1,500 
Lifetime maximum

There is a separate $1,000 lifetime maximum on dental implants available in both plans.

*Delta Dental will pay up to the allowed amount or the maximum allowable charge for providers in your area. You can be balance billed by non-Delta Dental 
providers for any amount that exceeds the allowable amount. Network providers cannot balance bill you for the difference between their charge and Delta 
Dental’s allowed amount.

exempt vision plan

             vision service plan (VSP) EyeMed Plan

Service In-Network Out-Of-Network In-Network Out-Of-Network

Network VSP Signature Select

Routine Exam/Frame/
Lens Frequency 1 every 12 months 1 every 12 months

Routine Exam/
Professional Fees

Plan pays 100% 
after $10 copay.

You pay $10 copay, then plan 
pays maximum of $25.

Plan pays 100% 
after $5 copay.

The plan reimburses 
a maximum of $25.

Materials/Lenses

Single Vision Lenses
Bifocal Lenses

Progressive Lenses
Trifocal Lenses

Lenticular Lenses
Polycarbonate 

Lenses
(Available to All)

Plan pays 100% 
after $15 copay.

You pay $15 copay, 
then plan pays maximum 

benefit of: 

$25
$35
$52
$52
$62
$0

Plan pays 100%.

Plan reimburses a 
maximum benefit of: 

$25
$35
$55
$52
$62
$0

Frames Plan pays 100% up to 
$120 retail.

Plan pays maximum 
benefit of $18.

Plan pays 100% up 
to $120 retail.

Plan reimburses a 
maximum benefit of $18.

Contact Lenses
Elective (Instead of 
Lenses & Frames)

Medically Necessary

Plan pays maximum of $125 
plus standard eye exam.

Plan pays 100% plus standard 
eye exam.

Plan pays maximum of $125 
plus standard eye exam.

Plan pays maximum of $125 
plus standard eye exam.

Plan pays maximum of $125 
plus standard eye exam.

Plan pays 100% plus 
standard eye exam.

Plan reimburses a maximum 
of $105 plus standard eye 

exam.
Plan reimburses a maximum 

of $105 plus standard eye 
exam.
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IRS basic life imputed income chart
(Monthly Cost Per $1,000 of Coverage in Excess of $50,000)

Age COSTS

Younger than 25 $0.05

25 through 29 $0.06

30 through 34 $0.08

35 through 39 $0.09

40 through 44 $0.10

45 through 49 $0.15

50 through 54 $0.23

55 through 59 $0.43

60 through 64 $0.66

65 through 69 $1.27

70 and older $2.06

exempt Supplemental Life Insurance Rate Chart 
(Monthly Cost per $10,000 of Coverage)

Age as of July 1, 2011 Non-Smoker Smoker

29 and Younger $0.59 $0.78

30 through 34 $0.72 $0.78

35 through 39 $0.82 $1.14

40 through 44 $1.30 $1.76

45 through 49 $2.01 $2.92

50 through 54 $3.13 $4.50

55 through 59 $5.02 $6.69

60 through 64 $7.61 $10.26

65 through 69 $12.36 $18.41

70 and Older $20.94 $32.95



17  │  mybenefits.spring 2011 mybenefits.spring 2011  │ 17

Employees who currently have medical coverage and whose 
plan is changing will automatically be enrolled into their 
assigned administrator. In addition, current HB1 children 
younger than age 26 will be automatically changed from HB1 
status to dependent status and will be included in your family 
coverage.  If you are not currently enrolled or you want to add 
or remove a dependent from your current coverage, please 
follow the steps below:

B.  PAPER

Obtain a paper Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change 
Form (ADM 4717) and/or a Dental and Vision Enrollment 
and Change Form for exempt employees (ADM 4720) from 
your agency’s human resources office. Or you may access these 
forms online. The forms are accessible online by clicking on the 
2011 Open Enrollment link located on the following state web 
pages: The State Employee drop-down menu on the ohio.gov 
website, the DAS home page at: das.ohio.gov and the Benefits 
Administration website at: das.ohio.gov/benefits.

3.	 Submit your enrollment or changes:

A. ONLINE – Make and submit your selections through Self 
Service at: myOhio.gov by Monday, May 16. Make sure your 
online changes are correctly submitted. At the end of the 
process you will receive a confirmation message.

B. PAPER – Give your completed and signed Medical and/
or Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form to your 
agency’s human resources office by 4 p.m. Monday, May 16.

Under the new requirements of federal health care reform, 
employees may request enrollment for children up to age 26 during 
an extended open enrollment period between April 25 and May 
25, 2011.  Enrollment will be effective July 1, 2011.  If you are 
enrolling one of these dependents after May 16 you will have to 
use an enrollment form and submit it to your agency’s benefits 
representative.  This applies to medical benefits only. All other 
changes must be submitted by May 16.

After open enrollment ends, you will receive a confirmation letter in 
the mail in early June.

Benefits Enrollment
Instructions  

1.	 Review your benefits by carefully reading this Open Enrollment 
edition of Pathways to myBenefits. If you have questions, contact 
your agency benefits representative (or human resources office) or 
HR Customer Service at 1.800.409.1205.

2.	 Enroll in coverage or make changes to your dependents’ medical, 
dental and vision online through Self Service at: myOhio.gov or 
by using a paper enrollment and change form available from your 
agency benefits representative.

my hi
A. ONLINE – Go to: myOhio.gov to access Self Service for 
benefits.

•	 Enter your Employee ID number and password.

If you have forgotten your Employee ID number or 
your password, contact HR Customer Service by e-mail 
at: HRcustomerservice@das.state.oh.us or call toll-free, 
1.800.409.1205, or in Columbus, 614.466.8857.

•	Click on Self Service.

•	Click on Benefits > Benefits Summary > Enroll in Benefits.

•	 For detailed instructions on how to enroll or make changes 
online, go to: das.ohio.gov/enrollmentinstructions.

•	Online open enrollment is available April 25 to May 16, 2011,   
as follows:

Weekdays – All day except 7 to 9 p.m.
Saturdays – All day except 4 to 6 p.m.
Sundays – All day except 4 p.m. to midnight

Important:
If you are enrolling for the first time and are covering 
dependents, or if you are adding new dependents 
during this Open Enrollment, you are required to 
provide the required eligibility documentation for your 
dependents. A listing of the required documentation 
can be found at: das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements. 

Coverage will not be provided for dependents until the 
eligibility documents are received and approved. The 
final deadline to submit all required documentation is 
July 29.

http://ohio.gov
http://das.ohio.gov
http://das.ohio.gov/benefits
http://myOhio.gov
http://myOhio.gov
http://HRcustomerservice@das.state.oh.us
http://das.ohio.gov/enrollmentinstructions
http://das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements
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MEDICAL

MEDICAL MUTUAL
1.800.822.1152
mmoh.com		
Group Number: 228000201

UNITED HEALTHCARE 
1.877.440.5977 
myuhc.com	 		
Group Number: 702097

PRESCRIPTION DRUG	

CATALYST RX
1.866.854.8850
catalystrx.com

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH 
& SUBSTANCE ABUSE

UNITED BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
1.800.852.1091 
liveandworkwell.com
Group Number: 00832
Code: 00832

TAKE CHARGE! LIVE WELL!

APS HEALTHCARE	
1.866.272.5507   
stateofohio.apshealthcare.com

24-HOUR NURSE ADVICE LINE

1.866.272.5507, option 3

FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Fringe Benefits 
Management Company (FBMC)
1.800.342.8017  
myfbmc.com

OTHER BENEFITS –
EXEMPT EMPLOYEES

DELTA DENTAL OF OHIO 	
1.800.524.0149  
deltadentaloh.com   	
Group Number: 9273-0001 (PPO)
Group Number: 9273-1001 (Premier)

VISION SERVICE PLAN (VSP)	
1.800.877.7195   
vsp.com  	
Group Number: 12022518

EYEMED VISION CARE	
1.866.723.0514   
eyemedvisioncare.com   	
Group Number: 9676008

BASIC LIFE INSURANCE
The Standard	
1.866.415.9518  
standard.com/mybenefits/ohio

SUPPLEMENTAL LIFE INSURANCE     
Prudential Life Insurance
1.800.778.3827   	
Group Number: LG-93046

OTHER CONTACTS

OHIO DEPARTMENT OF 		
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 
HR Customer Service
614.466.8857	
1.800.409.1205
e-mail: HRCustomerService@das.state.oh.us
das.ohio.gov/benefits

UNION BENEFITS TRUST
614.508.2255	
1.800.228.5088
benefitstrust.org

LONG TERM CARE INSURANCE
(Exempt and Union-represented) 
Prudential Long Term Care Solid Solutions
1.800.732.0416
Prudential.com/GLTCWEB
Group Name: stateofohio
Access Code: buckeyes
Group Number: LT-50636-OH

Health and Other Benefits Contacts

BARGAINING UNIT
CONTACT NUMBERS

VISION SERVICE PLAN
1.800.877.7195
Group Number: 12022914

EYEMED VISION CARE                    
1.866.723.0514
Group Number: 9674813

DELTA DENTAL OF OHIO            
1.877.334.5008
Group Number: 1009

PRUDENTIAL LIFE INSURANCE 
1.800.778.3827
Group Number:  LG-01049

WORKING SOLUTIONS PROGRAM 
1.800.358.8515
Group Number:  4718

HYATT LEGAL SERVICES     
1.800.821.6400
Group Number: 49000010

UNION BENEFITS TRUST (UBT)
614.508.2255	
1.800.228.5088
Union-represented employees can access 
plan information at: benefitstrust.org

TIP: When placing your calls, please ensure 
you have the documentation you might need 
during the call: 

•	Group Number
•	 Employee ID Number
•	 Explanation of Benefits (EOB) if   	

call is regarding claims.

http://mmoh.com
http://myuhc.com
http://catalystrx.com
http://liveandworkwell.com
http://stateofohio.apshealthcare.com
http://www.myfbmc.com
http://deltadentaloh.com
http://vsp.com
http://eyemedvisioncare.com
http://standard.com/mybenefits/ohio
mailto:HRCustomerService@das.state.oh.us
http://das.ohio.gov/benefits
http://benefitstrust.org
http://Prudential.com/GLTCWEB
http://benefitstrust.org
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Glossary
When reviewing information about your health care coverage 
options, it’s helpful to understand some of the basic terms and 
concepts.

Benefit Year/Plan Year: The 12-month period from July 
1 through June 30 during which services are rendered, and your 
deductible and coinsurance are accumulated. 

Coinsurance: The percentage of eligible expenses that 
the health care plan pays after the annual deductible is met. 
For example, a 20 percent coinsurance rate means you pay 20 
percent and the plan pays 80 percent.

Copay: A specified dollar amount you pay to a health care 
provider or pharmacy for eligible expenses such as office visits 
and prescriptions. Copays do not count toward your annual 
deductible.

Deductible: The amount you pay for eligible expenses each 
plan year before the plan begins to pay anything.

Employee Share: The portion of the total contribution that 
you pay through pre-tax payroll deductions for your medical 
coverage.

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO): A plan for 
comprehensive health services prepaid by an individual or by a 
company for its employees that provides treatment, preventive 
care and hospitalization to each participating member within a 
specific network.

House Bill 1 (HB 1): Ohio House Bill 1 of the 128th General 
Assembly created a new category of eligibility for the state 
medical plan. Medical coverage (including prescription drug 
and behavioral health benefits) is available to overage children 
up to age 28 only. A special rate applies for these children.  
Please refer to: das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements for eligibility 
requirements.

Out-of-Pocket Maximum: The cap or maximum amount 
you pay for eligible out-of-pocket medical expenses during 
the plan year. After your out-of-pocket expenses reach the 
maximum, the plan pays 100 percent of any additional eligible 
expenses for the remainder of the plan year. Deductibles and 
coinsurance apply to the out-of-pocket maximum. Check with 
your medical plan to determine if medical plan copays apply 
toward your out-of-pocket maximum. Prescription copays do 
not apply to the out-of-pocket maximum.

Preferred Provider Organization (PPO): When you 
enroll in a PPO (medical or dental), you may visit any doctor 
and receive benefits.  However, the benefit is less when you use 
providers that are not a part of the PPO network.

State Share: The portion of the total contribution the State 
of Ohio pays to provide employees with medical coverage.

Third-Party Administrator (TPA): An organization or 
company that processes claims and other aspects of employee 
benefits plans on behalf of an employer without assuming 
any risk.

Continuation Coverage 
Rights Under COBRA

Introduction
This notice contains important information about your right to 
COBRA continuation coverage, which is a temporary extension of 
coverage under the plan. This notice generally explains COBRA 
continuation coverage, when it may become available to you and 
your family, and what you need to do to protect the right to receive 
it.  

The right to COBRA continuation coverage was created by a federal 
law, the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 
(COBRA). COBRA continuation coverage can become available to 
you when you would otherwise lose your group health coverage. It 
also can become available to other members of your family who are 
covered under the plan when they would otherwise lose their group 
health coverage. For additional information about your rights and 
obligations under the plan and under federal law, you should review 
the plan’s summary description or contact the plan administrator.  

What is COBRA Continuation Coverage?
COBRA continuation coverage is a continuation of plan coverage 
when coverage would otherwise end because of a life event known 
as a “qualifying event.” Specific qualifying events are listed later in 
this notice. After a qualifying event, COBRA continuation coverage 
must be offered to each person who is a “qualified beneficiary.”  You, 
your spouse and your dependent children could become qualified 
beneficiaries if coverage under the plan is lost because of the qualifying 
event. Under the Plan, qualified beneficiaries who elect COBRA 
continuation coverage must pay for COBRA continuation coverage.  

If you are an employee, you will become a qualified beneficiary 
if you lose your coverage under the plan because of the following 
qualifying event:

Your employment ends for any reason other than your gross 
misconduct.

If you are the spouse of an employee, you will become a qualified 
beneficiary if you lose your coverage under the Plan because any of 
the following qualifying events occurs:

Your spouse dies;
Your spouse’s employment ends for any reason other than his or her 
gross misconduct;	
Your spouse becomes entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part A, 
Part B, or both); or
You become divorced or legally separated from your spouse.

Your dependent children will become qualified beneficiaries if they 
lose coverage under the plan because any of the following qualifying 
events happen:

The parent-employee dies;
The parent-employee’s employment ends for any reason other than 
his or her gross misconduct;

legal notices

http://das.ohio.gov/eligibilityrequirements


20  │  mybenefits.spring 2011

LEGAL NOTICES

The parent-employee becomes entitled to Medicare benefits (Part 
A, Part B, or both);
The parents become divorced or legally separated; or
The child stops being eligible for coverage under the plan as a 
“dependent child.”

When is COBRA Coverage Available?
The plan will offer COBRA continuation coverage to qualified 
beneficiaries only after the plan administrator has been notified that a 
qualifying event has occurred.  When the qualifying event is the end 
of employment, death of the employee, or the employee becoming 
entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part A, Part B, or both), the 
employer must notify the Plan Administrator of the qualifying event.

You Must Give Notice of Some Qualifying Events
For the other qualifying events (divorce or legal separation of the 
employee and spouse or a dependent child’s losing eligibility for 
coverage as a dependent child), you must notify your agency HR 
representative within 60 days after the qualifying event occurs.  

How is COBRA Coverage Provided?
Once your agency HR representative receives notice that a qualifying 
event has occurred, COBRA continuation coverage will be offered 
to each of the qualified beneficiaries. Each qualified beneficiary will 
have an independent right to elect COBRA continuation coverage.  
Covered employees may elect COBRA continuation coverage on 
behalf of their spouses, and parents may elect COBRA continuation 
coverage on behalf of their children.  

COBRA continuation coverage is a temporary continuation of 
coverage. When the qualifying event is the death of the employee, 
the employee’s becoming entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part 
A, Part B or both), your divorce or legal separation, or a dependent 
child’s losing eligibility as a dependent child, COBRA continuation 
coverage lasts for up to a total of 36 months. When the qualifying 
event is the end of employment, and the employee became entitled 
to Medicare benefits less than 18 months before the qualifying 
event, COBRA continuation coverage for qualified beneficiaries 
other than the employee lasts until 36 months after the date of 
Medicare entitlement. For example, if a covered employee becomes 
entitled to Medicare eight months before the date on which his or 
her employment terminates, COBRA continuation coverage for the 
employee’s spouse and children can last up to 36 months after the date 
of Medicare entitlement, which is equal to 28 months after the date 
of the qualifying event (36 months minus eight months). Otherwise, 
when the qualifying event is the end of employment or reduction of 
the employee’s hours of employment, COBRA continuation coverage 
generally lasts for only up to a total of 18 months. There are two ways 
in which this 18-month period of COBRA continuation coverage can 
be extended.  

Disability extension of 18-month 
period of continuation coverage
If you or anyone in your family covered under the plan is determined 
by the Social Security Administration to be disabled and you notify 

the plan administrator in a timely fashion, you and your entire family 
may be entitled to receive up to an additional 11 months of COBRA 
continuation coverage, for a total maximum of 29 months. The 
disability would have to have started at some time before the 60th 
day of COBRA continuation coverage and must last at least until 
the end of the 18-month period of continuation coverage.  Requests 
for disability extensions must be made in writing to the COBRA 
administrator, see Plan Contact Information below for address and 
phone number. You must include a copy of your most recent SSA 
disability approval letter. If your disability is not certified by the SSA, 
you do not qualify for the extension.

Second qualifying event extension of 
18-month period of continuation coverage
If your family experiences another qualifying event while receiving 
18 months of COBRA continuation coverage, the spouse and 
dependent children in your family can get up to 18 additional months 
of COBRA continuation coverage, for a maximum of 36 months, if 
notice of the second qualifying event is properly given to the plan. 
This extension may be available to the spouse and any dependent 
children receiving continuation coverage if the employee or former 
employee dies, becomes entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part 
A, Part B or both) or gets divorced or legally separated, or if the 
dependent child stops being eligible under the plan as a dependent 
child, but only if the event would have caused the spouse or dependent 
child to lose coverage under the plan had the first qualifying event not 
occurred.

If You Have Questions
Questions concerning your plan or your COBRA continuation 
coverage rights should be addressed to the contact or contacts 
identified below.  For more information about your rights under 
ERISA, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, including 
COBRA, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA), and other laws affecting group health plans, contact the 
nearest Regional or District Office of the U.S. Department of Labor’s 
Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA) in your area 
or visit the EBSA website at: dol.gov/ebsa.  (Addresses and phone 
numbers of Regional and District EBSA Offices are available through 
EBSA’s website.) 

Keep Your Plan Informed of Address Changes
To protect your family’s rights, you should keep the plan 
administrator informed of any changes in the addresses of family 
members.  You also should keep a copy, for your records, of any 
notices you send to the plan administrator.

Plan Contact Information:
COBRA Administrator
Benefits Administration Services
30 E. Broad Street, 27th Floor
Columbus, OH  43215
614.466.8857 or 1.800.409.1205
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Women’s Health and Cancer Rights 
Act of 1998: Notice of Rights
The Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998 (WHCRA) is a 
federal law that provides protections to patients who choose to have 
breast reconstruction in connection with a mastectomy.  The terms of 
WHCRA provide:

A group health plan, and a health insurance issuer providing health 
insurance coverage in connection with a group health plan, that 
provides medical and surgical benefits with respect to a mastectomy 
shall provide, in a case of a participant or beneficiary who is receiving 
benefits in connection with a mastectomy and who elects breast 
reconstruction in connection with such mastectomy, coverage for--

1.	 all stages of reconstruction of the breast on which the 
mastectomy has been performed;

2.	 surgery and reconstruction of the other breast to produce a 
symmetrical appearance; and

3.	 prostheses and physical complications of all stages of mastectomy, 
including lymphedemas; in a manner determined in consultation 
with the attending physician and the patient. Such coverage may 
be subject to annual deductibles and coinsurance provisions as 
may be deemed appropriate and as are consistent with those 
established for other benefits under the plan or coverage.

If you have any questions about the State of Ohio’s plans provisions 
relating to the Women’s Health and Breast Cancer Rights Act of 1998, 
contact HR Customer Service at 614.466.8857 or 1.800.409.1205.

Newborns’ and Mothers’ 
Health Protection Act
Under the provisions of The Women’s and Newborns’ Act, group 
health plans and health insurance issuers generally may not, under 
federal law, restrict benefits for any hospital length of stay in 
connection with childbirth for the mother or newborn child to less 
than 48 hours following a vaginal delivery, or less than 96 hours 
following a Caesarean section.  However, federal law generally does 
not prohibit the mother’s or newborn’s attending provider, after 
consulting with the mother, from discharging the mother or her 
newborn earlier than 48 hours (or 96 hours as applicable).  In any case, 
plans and issuers may not, under federal law, require that a provider 
obtain authorization from the plan or the issuer for prescribing a 
length of stay not in excess of 48 hours (or 96 hours).

Coverage for Dependents to Age 26
Individuals whose coverage ended, or who were denied coverage (or 
were not eligible for coverage), because the availability of dependent 
coverage of children ended before attainment of age 26 are eligible 
to enroll in the Ohio Med PPO.  Individuals may request enrollment 
for such children during a special open enrollment period between 
April 25 through May 25, 2011.   Enrollment will be effective July 
1, 2011.  For more information, contact HR Customer Service at 
1.800.409.1205.  

Patient Protection
The Ohio Med PPO generally allows the designation of a primary care 
provider.  You have the right to designate any primary care provider 
who participates in our network and who is available to accept 
you or your family members.  For information on how to select a 
primary care provider, and for a list of the participating primary care 
providers, please see the contact numbers for Medical Mutual and 
UnitedHealthcare below.    

For children, you may designate a pediatrician as the primary care 
provider.  

You do not need prior authorization from Medical Mutual 
or UnitedHealthcare or from any other person (including a 
primary care provider) in order to obtain access to obstetrical or 
gynecological care from a professional in our network who specializes 
in obstetrics or gynecology. The professional, however, may be 
required to comply with certain procedures, including obtaining 
prior authorization for certain services, following a pre-approved 
treatment plan, or procedures for making referrals.  For a list of 
participating professionals who specialize in obstetrics or gynecology, 
contact Medical Mutual at 1.800.822.1152 or UnitedHealthcare at 
1.877.440.5977.

Creditable Coverage Disclosure:
Important Notice from the State of Ohio About Your Prescription 
Drug Coverage and Medicare
Please read this notice carefully and keep it where you can find it. This 
notice has information about your current prescription drug coverage, 
effective July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012, with the State of Ohio and 
about your options under Medicare’s prescription drug coverage. 
This information can help you decide whether or not you want to 
join a Medicare drug plan. If you are considering joining, you should 
compare your current coverage, including which drugs are covered at 
what cost, with the coverage and costs of the plans offering Medicare 
prescription drug coverage in your area. Information about where you 
can get help to make decisions about your prescription drug coverage 
is at the end of this notice. 

There are two important things you need to know about your current 
coverage and Medicare’s prescription drug coverage:

Medicare prescription drug coverage became available in 2006 to 
everyone with Medicare. You can get this coverage if you join a 
Medicare Prescription Drug Plan or join a Medicare Advantage 
Plan (like an HMO or PPO) that offers prescription drug coverage. 
All Medicare drug plans provide at least a standard level of coverage 
set by Medicare. Some plans may also offer more coverage for a 
higher monthly premium.

The State of Ohio has determined that the prescription drug 
coverage offered by Catalyst Rx is, on average for all plan 
participants, expected to pay out as much as standard Medicare 
prescription drug coverage pays and is therefore considered 
Creditable Coverage. Because your existing coverage is Creditable 
Coverage, you can keep this coverage and not pay a higher premium 
(a penalty) if you later decide to join a Medicare drug plan.
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WHEN CAN YOU JOIN A MEDICARE DRUG PLAN?
You can join a Medicare drug plan when you first become eligible for 
Medicare and each year from Nov. 15 through Dec. 31. However, if 
you lose your current creditable prescription drug coverage, through 
no fault of your own, you will also be eligible for a two (2) month 
Special Enrollment Period (SEP) to join a Medicare drug plan.

WHAT HAPPENS TO YOUR CURRENT COVERAGE 
IF YOU DECIDE TO JOIN A MEDICARE DRUG PLAN?
If you decide to join a Medicare drug plan, your current State Of Ohio 
coverage will not be affected. The State of Ohio has determined that 
the prescription drug coverage offered by Catalyst Rx is, on average 
for all plan participants, expected to pay out as much as standard 
Medicare prescription drug coverage pays and is therefore considered 
Creditable Coverage. Because your existing coverage is Creditable 
Coverage, you can keep this coverage and not pay a higher premium 
(a penalty) if you later decide to join a Medicare drug plan.

Go to: das.ohio.gov/prescriptiondrug for more details on your 
prescription benefits.

If you decide to join a Medicare Drug Plan and drop your current state 
medical coverage, be aware that you and your dependents will not be 
able to get this coverage back unless you experience a qualifying event 
or sign up during open enrollment.

When Will You Pay A Higher Premium
(Penalty) To Join A Medicare Drug Plan?
You should also know that if you drop or lose your current coverage 
with the State of Ohio and don’t join a Medicare drug plan within 
63 continuous days after your current coverage ends, you may pay a 
higher premium (a penalty) to join a Medicare drug plan later. 
If you go 63 continuous days or longer without creditable prescription 
drug coverage, your monthly premium may go up by at least 1 percent 
of the Medicare base beneficiary premium per month for every month 
that you did not have that coverage. For example, if you go nineteen 
months without creditable coverage, your premium may consistently 
be at least 19 percent higher than the Medicare base beneficiary 
premium. You may have to pay this higher premium (a penalty) as 
long as you have Medicare prescription drug coverage. In addition, 
you may have to wait until the following November to join.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THIS NOTICE OR 
YOUR CURRENT PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE…
Contact the person listed below for further information.  
NOTE: You’ll get this notice each year. You will also get it before the 
next period you can join a Medicare drug plan, and if this coverage 
through the State of Ohio changes. You also may request a copy of this 
notice at any time.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR OPTIONS 
UNDER MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE…
More detailed information about Medicare plans that offer 
prescription drug coverage is in the “Medicare & You” handbook. 
You’ll get a copy of the handbook in the mail every year from 
Medicare. You may also be contacted directly by Medicare drug plans. 
For more information about Medicare prescription drug coverage:
Visit: medicare.gov.

Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see the inside 
back cover of your copy of the “Medicare & You” handbook for their 
telephone number) for personalized help.

Call 1-800-MEDICARE (1.800.633.4227) 
TTY users should call 1.877.486.2048

If you have limited income and resources, extra help paying for 
Medicare prescription drug coverage is available. For information 
about this extra help, visit Social Security on the web at: 
socialsecurity.gov or call them at 1.800.772.1213 
(TTY 1.800.325.0778).

Remember: Keep this Creditable Coverage notice. If you decide to 
join one of the Medicare drug plans, you may be required to provide 
a copy of this notice when you join to show whether or not you have 
maintained creditable coverage and, therefore, whether or not you are 
required to pay a higher premium (a penalty).

July 1, 2011

STATE OF OHIO
DAS Benefits Administration
Prescription Drug Benefits Manager
30 East Broad, 27th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
1.800.409.1205

LEGAL NOTICES

http://das.ohio.gov/prescriptiondrug
http://medicare.gov
http://socialsecurity.gov
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2011
at A

GLANCE
APRIL	
•	 Prepare for Benefits Open Enrollment 	
by updating your personal data via 		
Self Service at: myOhio.gov

•	 Benefits Open Enrollment begins April 25

MAY
•	 Benefits Open Enrollment ends May 16
•	 Healthy Ohio Fitness Walk, May 18
•	 National Public Employee Health and 
Fitness Month

JUNE
•	 Take Charge! Live Well! (TCLW) year	
ends June 30

•	 Annual exams for children

JULY
•	 New benefits year begins July 1

AUGUST
•	 Dental Health Month

SEPTEMBER
•	 Get a flu shot
•	 National Cholesterol Education Month

OCTOBER
•	 Flexible Spending Account (FSA) Open 
Enrollment

•	 Breast Cancer Awareness Month
•	 National Depression Screening Month

NOVEMBER
•	 TCLW assessments must be completed	
by Nov. 30

•	 National Diabetes Month

DECEMBER
•	 Use your remaining FSA money

http://myOhio.gov
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Department of Administrative Services

Human Resources Division
Benefits Administration Services
30 E. Broad St., 27th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215


