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Ohio’s Unclaimed Funds Law

• Chapter 169 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Ohio Unclaimed 

Funds Law

• Chapter enacted effective December 11, 1967

• Chapter 169, R.C., is administered by the Ohio Department of 

Commerce, Division of Unclaimed Funds. 

• Chapter 1310:10 of the Ohio Administrative Code, Unclaimed 

Funds Division
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What are Unclaimed Funds?

Any financial asset for which an owner 
has not generated activity for an extended 
period of time. Dormancy triggers are 
typically a date payable or date of last 
owner-generated activity.
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What Are Unclaimed Funds?

• Any moneys, rights to moneys or intangible property, 
described in section 169.02 of the R.C., when, as shown 
by the records of the holder [company holding the funds], 
the owner has not, within [specified time periods in the 
R.C.] 

• Increased, decreased or adjusted the amount;  

• Paid premiums, or encumbered funds;

• Received payment of funds by check, draft, or 
otherwise
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What Are Unclaimed Funds?

• Corresponded with the holder concerning the 
funds; 

• Otherwise indicated an interest in or knowledge of 
funds; 

• Transacted business with the company holding the 
funds 

R.C. § 169.01(B)
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What Are Unclaimed Funds?

Common examples:
• Checking accounts

• Savings accounts

• Rent deposits

• Utility deposits

• Uncashed checks

• Undelivered stock certificates

• Dividends from stock

• Customer overpayments

• Salaries, commissions, wages over $50

• Expense reimbursement checks
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Who must report unclaimed funds?

“Holders" are private business 

enterprises, public corporations, financial 

institutions, non-profit organizations and 

all other entities that maintain account 

balances, write checks, or hold funds in 
escrow for another person or persons.
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Exemptions –

Not Unclaimed 

Funds

• Gift Certificate Exemption

• AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, FL, 
ID, IL, KS, MD, MN, NC, 
ND, OH, OR, SC, VT, 
VA,WI

• Business to Business 
Exemption 

• AZ, IL, IN, IA, KS, MD, MA, 
NC, OH, TN, VA, WI

• Payroll Checks less than 
$50.00

• OH, KY

Many states have 
reporting exemptions, 
including Ohio.
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Records Retention 

Holders must retain records for five years beyond the 
applicable period of dormancy.

Retained records include:

• A copy of the unclaimed funds report that was filed 
(OUF Forms 1 & 2);

• All signed returned OUF-8 Notice of Unclaimed Funds 
sent by a holder to the reported owner;

• Undeliverable address mail; and
• All supporting research & documentation used to 

prepare the unclaimed funds report.
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Exemptions from Reporting

• Political Subdivision Exemption 
R.C. § 9.39

• 501(c)(3) Hospital Exemption  
R.C. § (D)(2)

• Personal Allowance Account 

R.C. § 169.02(R)(2)

• Merchandise Gift Certificate 

R.C. § 169.01(B)(2)(d)
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Business-to Business-Exemption

O.A.C. 1301:10-1-01(M) 

• First effective Sept. 14, 2000

• Eliminates wholesale trade from the jurisdiction 

of Chapter 169 of R.C.

• Exempts unclaimed funds created from 

payments to, or receipts from, a business 

association to a business association evidenced 

by purchase order and invoice.
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Ohio Division of Unclaimed Funds 

Reporting

Amy Schellhammer, Finance Manager

Amy.Schellhammer@com.state.oh.us

mailto:Kelli.Lister@com.state.oh.us
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Reporting Deadlines

• Non-life Insurance Companies: Nov. 1 

• Dormant as of June 30

• Life Insurance Companies:  

May 1

• Dormant as of Dec. 31

No funds? A Negative (None) Report is still required
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Due-Diligence

R.C. § 169.03 (D)

• Send notice (OUF-8) to each owner of 

each item of unclaimed funds

• Item having value of $50 or more

• Last known address

• Enclose stamped self addressed envelope

• Allow 30 days to respond
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• Send by certified mail if item has value of 

$1,000 or more

• Allow 30 days to respond

• If no response to certified mailing, 

company may deduct cost of mailing up 

to $20 from the reportable amount

Due-Diligence (continued)
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Content of Report

Holders must report the following: (OUF-1, OUF-2)

• Full owner name

• Last known address

• Nature and identifying number for account/funds

• Amount of funds held

• Date when funds became payable or date of last 

transaction

• Social Security Number of reported owner of funds, if 

available
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Ways to Report

▪ Ohio Business Gateway (Gateway) -

Electronically

▪ HRS Pro or UPExchange – Electronically

▪ Paper – Fax or Mail

▪ Diskette – Mail
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Ohio Division of Unclaimed Funds 

Examination Process

Charles L. Farris, Compliance Audit Manager

Charles.Farris@com.state.oh.us

mailto:Charles.Farris@com.state.oh.us
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Unclaimed Funds Examination
Compliance Review Process

• Holder Selection

• Random Selection

• Follow up examination 

• Tips/Special Audit

• Pre-Audit 

• Audit Entrance Letter 

• Explain process, scope/audit period

• Initial records request



#ohiobizcareerexpo2018

Compliance Review Process (continued)

• Initial records request

• Period general ledger trial balance

• Credit balance report

• Policies and procedures for handling credit balances

• Unclaimed funds reports with back up documentation

• Monthly bank statements, reconciliation worksheets, 
outstanding checks 
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• Questionnaire

• General information on business operations

• Auditor scheduling

• Entrance conference- disclosure document

• Examination of records

Compliance Review Process (continued)
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• Presentation of preliminary findings

• Provide disclosure document

• Provide receipt for working papers

• 120 Days to review, research and provide 
documents to reduce the findings. 

• Due diligence mailings are included within 
this period (OUF-8)  

Compliance Review Process (continued)
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• Closing review – adjusted findings

• Options

• Pay all findings

• Appeal all findings

• Appeal part, pay remaining findings

• 30 days to respond

• Closing letter - final adjusted findings

Compliance Review Process (continued)
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Contract Auditors

The contract auditor must agree to:

• Maintain the confidentiality of the records 

examined

• Conduct the examination in accordance with 

rules adopted under R.C. § 169.09

• Obtain a corporate surety bond in favor of the 

director in a sum determined by the director
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Types of Contract Examinations

• The Contract Auditors (CA) perform two types of 
examinations:

• Involuntary Examinations – The CA will work as 
the state’s agent on examinations mandated by a 
state

• State initiated: Mandated by Ohio

• Join-in: Mandated by another state, Ohio 
joins-in
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• Voluntary Examinations – The CA will 
independently contract with companies to 
participate in a voluntary examination of their 
records for unclaimed funds compliance and 
then request to engage in a Voluntary 
Disclosure Agreement (VDA) with the state  

Types of Contract Examinations (continued)
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Questions?
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Thank you for 

your time and attention!


