OCSEA - 14

       IMPORTANT COBRA NOTIFICATION

FOR STATE OF OHIO EMPLOYEES AND DEPENDENTS
It is important that all covered individuals (employee, spouse and dependent children) take the time to read this notice and be familiar with its contents.

Under federal law, the State of Ohio is required to offer covered employees and family members the opportunity for a temporary extension of health coverage when insurance coverage ends due to certain qualifying events.

Covered Employee: If you are the employee covered by a group health plan you may have the right to continue your coverage due to termination of employment (for reasons other that gross misconduct) or a reduction in hours.

Covered Spouse: If you are the covered spouse of a state employee covered by a group health plan, you may have the right to continue coverage for yourself if you lose coverage for the following reasons: termination of your spouse's employment or a reduction in your spouse's hours; the death of your spouse; divorce or legal separation from your spouse; or your spouse becomes entitled to Medicare.

Covered Dependent Children: If you are the covered dependent child of an employee covered by a group health plan, you may have the right to continuation coverage for yourself if you lose coverage for the following reasons: termination of the employee's employment or a reduction in hours; death of the employee; parents divorce or legal separation, the employee becomes entitled to Medicare; or you cease to be a dependent child under the terms of the plan

Coverage Periods: Generally, if the event causing the loss of coverage is a termination of employment or a reduction in hours, coverage is available for an additional 18 months. If the event causing the loss of coverage was the death of the employee, divorce, legal separation, Medicare entitlement, or a dependent child ceasing to be a dependent, continuation coverage is available for 36 months.

Important Employee, Spouse and Dependent Notifications Required

Under the law, the employee, spouse or other family member has the responsibility to notify the State of Ohio of a divorce, legal separation, or a child losing dependent status under the group health plan. This notice must be made within 60 days of the event or the date coverage will end, whichever is later. If this notification is not made, your right to continuation coverage will be forfeited.

Notification procedure

Employees or a covered family member should inform the employing state agency or Benefits Administration Services (614-466-8857) of any qualifying event that results in a loss of coverage. Information will then be sent to the requesting party about the length of available coverage periods, premium rates, conversion rights when COBRA coverage ends, and other information related to your rights under COBRA.

Cost: Premiums for continued coverage are the group rate that the State of Ohio pays for coverage, plus a 2% administrative fee.


