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To: All HCM Administrators

From: Jessica Schuster, Administrator /
Office of Talent Management g

Date: QOctober 16, 2013

Re: Minimum Wage Rates for 2014

This is to inform all agencies, boards, and commissions that Ohio’s minimum wage will increase on January
1, 2014 to $7.95 per hour for non-tipped employees and to $3.98 for tipped employees, plus tips. The
current minimum wage rate is $7.85 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.93 per hour for tipped
employees, plus tips.

Changes to the wage are tied directly to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) as outlined in the constitutional
amendment passed in November 2006. The state minimum wage is tied to the CPI for urban wage earners
and clerical workers for the 12-month period prior to September. This CPI index rose 1.5 percent from
September 1, 2012 to August 13, 2013.

Attached you will find a news release from the Ohio Department of Commerce which contains additional
information, related links, and contact information.
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cermet NEWS RELEASE

John R. Kasich, Governor Andre T, Porter, Director
Department of Commerce

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Matt Mullins (614) 644-2556
October 10, 2013 Matt.Mullins@com.ohio.gov

OHIO MINIMUM WAGE SET TO INCREASE ON JANUARY 1, 2014

Ohio’s minimum wage is scheduled to increase on January 1, 2014 to $7.95 per hour for non-
tipped employees and to $3.98 per hour for tipped employees, plus tips. The increased minimum
wage will apply to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of more than $292,000 per
year. ‘

The current 2013 Ohio minimum wage is $7.85 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.93 for
tipped employees, plus tips. The 2013 Ohio minimum wage applies to employees of businesses
with annual gross receipts of more than $288,000 per year

The Constitutional Amendment passed by Ohio voters in November 2006 states that Ohio’s
minimum wage shall increase on January | of each year by the rate of inflation. The state
minimum wage is tied to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for urban wage earners and clerical
workers for the 12-month period prior to September. This CPI index rose 1.5 percent over the
twelve month period from September 1, 2012 to August 31, 2013. The Amendment also states
that the wage rate for non-tipped employees shall be rounded to the nearest five cents. The
Constitutional Amendment is available online:
www.legislature.state.oh.us/constitution.cfm?Part=2&Section=34a

For employees at smaller companies (with annual gross receipts of $288,000 or less per year in
2013 or $292,000 or less per year after January 1, 2014) and for 14- and 15-year-olds, the state
minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. For these employees, the state wage is tied to the federal
minimum wage of $7.25 per hour which requires an act of Congress and the President’s signature
to change.

Information on Ohio’s 2014 minimum wage is available online:
http.//www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2014Minimumwageposter.pdf




