Ohio Department of Administrative Services

Jo Ko, Govorcr Memorandum
OhiDAS

To: HCM Administrators of State Agencies, Boards, Commissions & Elected Officials

From:  Jessica Schuster, Administrator i
Office of Talent Manager

Date: October 8, 2014

Re: Minimum Wage Rates for 2015

This is to inform all agencies, boards and commissions that Ohio’s minimum wage will increase on
January 1, 2015 to $8.10 per hour for non-tipped employees and to $4.05 per hour for tipped
employees. The current minimum wage rate is $7.95 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.98
per hour for tipped employees.

Changes to the wage are tied directly to the Consumer Price Index (CP1) as outlined in the
constitutional amendment passed in November 2006. The state minimum wage is tied to the CPI for
urban wage earners and clerical workers for the 12-month period prior to September. This CP! index
rose 1.6 percent from September 1, 2013 to August 31, 2014. - -

Attached you will find a news release from the Ohio Department of Commerce which contains
additional information, related links and contact information.
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semmes NEWS RELEASE

John R. Kasich, Governor Andre T, Porter, Director
Department of Commerce
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Matt Mullins (614} 644-2556

September 30, 2014 matt.mullinsi@com.ohio.gov

OQHIO MINIMUM WAGE SET TO AUTOMATICALLY INCREASE ON
JANUARY 1, 2015

Ohio’s minimum wage is scheduled to automatically increase on January 1, 2015 to $8.10 per
hour for non-tipped employees and to $4.05 per hour for tipped employees. The increased
minimum wage will apply to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of more than
$297,000 per year. '

The current 2014 Ohio minimum wage is $7.95 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.98 for
tipped employees. The 2014 Ohio minimum wage applies to employees of businesses with
annual gross receipts of more than $292,000 per year.

The Constitutional Amendment passed by Ohio voters in November 2006 states that Ohio’s
minimum wage shall increase on January 1 of each year by the rate of inflation. The state
minimum wage is tied to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for urban wage earners and clerical
workers for the 12-month period prior to September. This CPI index rose 1.6 percent over the
twelve month period from September 1, 2013 to August 31, 2014. The Amendment also states
that. the wage rate for non-tipped employees shall be rounded to the nearest five cents. The
Constitutional Amendment is available online:

www legislature state.oh.us/constitution.cfm?Part=2&Section=34a

For employees at smaller companies (with annual gross receipts of $292,000 or less per year in
2014 or $297,000 or less per year after January 1, 2015) and for 14~ and 15-year-olds, the state
minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. For these employees, the state wage is tied to the federal
minimum wage of $7.25 per hour which requires an act of Congress and the President’s signature
to change.

Information on Ohio’s 2015 minimum wage is available online:
http://www.com.ohio.eov/documents/dico 2013MinimumWageposter.pdf
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