Ohio Department of Administrative Services

o oo o Memorandum

Robert Blair, Director

Ohi®BdAS

To: All HCM Administrators

From: Jessica Schuster, Administrator /)
Office of Warkforce Administration L™

Date:  QOctober 1, 2012

Re: Minimum Wage Rates for 2013

This is to inform all agencies, boards, and commissions that Ohio’s minimum wage will increase
on January 1, 2013 to $7.85 per hour for non-tipped employees and to $3.93 for tipped
employees, plus tips. The current minimum wage rate is $7.70 per hour for non-tipped
employees and $3.85 per hour for tipped employees, plus tips.

Changes to the wage are tied directly to the Consumer Price Index (CP1) as outlined in the
constitutional amendment passed in November 2006. The state minimum wage is tied to the CPl
for urban wage earners and clerical workers for the 12-month period prior to September. This
CPl index rose 1.7 percent from September 1, 2011 to August 31, 2012.

Attached you will find a news release from the Ohio Department of Commerce which contains
additional information, related links, and contact information.

Attachment

cc: file
Jessica Schuster, Administrator — Workforce Administration



ceermet NEWS RELEASE

John R, Kasich, Governor David Goodman, Director
Department of Commerce

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Dennis Ginty at (614) 644-9564
SEPTEMBER 28, 2012

QHIO MINIMUM WAGE SET TO INCREASE ON JANUARY 1,2013

Ohio’s minimum wage is scheduled to increase on January 1, 2013 to $7.85 per hour for non-
tipped employees and to $3.93 per hour for tipped employees, plus tips.

The 2012 Ohio minimum wage is $7.70 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.85 for tipped
employees, plus tips.

On January 1, 2013, the increased minimum wage will apply to employees of businesses with
annual gross receipts of more than $288.000 per year. The 2012 Ohio minimum wage applies to
employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of more than $283,000 per year.

The Constitutional Amendment passed by Ohio voters in November 2006 states that Ohio’s
minimum wage shall increase on January 1 of each year by the rate of inflation. The state
minimum wage is tied to the Consumer Price Index (CP1) for urban wage earners and clerical
workers for the 12-month period prior to September. This CPI index rose 1.7 percent from
September 1, 2011 to August 31, 2012. The Amendment also states that the wage rate for non-
tipped employees shall be rounded to the nearest five cents. The Constitutional Amendment is
available at: www_legislature state.oh.us/constitution.cfin?Part=2&Section=34a

For employees at smaller companies (with annual gross receipts of $283,000 or less per year in
2012 or $288,000 or less per year after January 1, 2013} and for 14- and 15-year-olds, the state
minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. For these employees, the state wage is tied to the federal
minimum wage of $7.25 per hour which requires an act of Congress and the President’s signature
to change.

Information on Ohic’s 2013 minimum wage is available at
http://www.com.ohio.gov/laws/docs/dice 2013MinimumWageposter.pdf
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