
Revised June 5, 2014 

 

Annual Affidavit of House Bill 1 Dependent Status 
State of Ohio 

 
County of___________________ 

 
 

I, _______________________________  after first being duly cautioned and sworn, state the following: 
   (print employee name) 
 
 

• Name of dependent: ______________________ (hereinafter referred to as “my dependent”) 
 

• My dependent’s date of birth is:____________________________. 
 

• My dependent is unmarried; 
 

• My dependent is 26 or 27 years old;  
                   

• My dependent is my natural child, stepchild or adopted child; 
 

• My dependent is either (check one): 
 

o A full time student at an accredited public or private institution of higher education, OR 
 

o A resident of the state of Ohio;  
 
 

• My dependent is not employed by an employer that offers any health benefit plan under which my 
dependent is eligible for coverage; AND 
 

• My dependent is not eligible for coverage under the Medicaid program established under ORC Chapter 
5111 or the Medicare program established under Title XVIII of the “Social Security Act,” 42 USC 1395. 

 
I understand that knowingly providing false or misleading information in this Affidavit may result in any or all of the 
following actions by the State of Ohio: 1) loss of coverage; 2) disciplinary action, up to and including removal; 3) 
collection action to recoup payments of benefits and claims paid for individuals determined to be ineligible 
dependents; and/or 4) civil and/or criminal prosecution.  
 
                         

_______________________         _______________________________ 
(State of Ohio User ID Number)                                                            (Signature of Enrolled Employee) 
 

 
Sworn to and subscribed in my presence this  

______day of ________________, 20___.  
 
 

 
 

_______________________________ 
(notary public) 

 
              My commission expires __________, ______.  

 
         Recorded in _______________________ County  
 
 
 



Revised June 5, 2014 

 

 
 

Tax Treatment of HB1 Dependents 
 
 

There may be tax consequences if a House Bill 1 dependent is enrolled on your medical plan.  The IRS 

does not permit favorable tax treatment for a dependent or a child (within the meaning of 26 USC 

152(f)(1)) who has attained age 27 as of the end of the taxable year.   

 

If the individual has attained the age of 27 by the end of the tax year, you will be taxed on the value of the 

coverage for that dependent.  The state has determined the HB1 rates as the fair market value of 

dependent coverage.  Your total medical deduction, including the deduction for your HB1 dependent, will 

be treated as a pre-tax deduction on your paycheck. However, the fair market value of the non-qualified 

dependent coverage will be included in your gross income and will be subject to federal withholding and 

may also impact your municipal and school district income tax liability. The total amount of HB1 

deductions taken for non-qualified dependents will be reported on your Form W-2 (State of Ohio income 

tax is not applicable to the HB1 deduction). 

 

You may wish to consult with an independent tax adv isor as to your HB1 dependent’s status 

under the Internal Revenue Code and accompanying IR S regulations.   

 

 
Plan Year 2014 Rates All Health Plans 
HB1 dependent rate* (bi-weekly) $101.77 
HB1 dependent rate* (monthly) $220.51 

 
 
* Note: The rate listed is for each HB1 dependent that you enroll.  For example, if you enroll two HB1 dependents 

and you have family coverage, your total additional deduction will be $203.54 if you are paid bi-weekly or 
total additional $441.02 if you are paid monthly. 


