
 

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR ADDING DEPENDENTS 

 
 

Required Documents Worksheet – Employees – Revised January 12, 2011       ADM-BAS 4010 

 

An employee may enroll a dependent in State of Ohio health benefits during Open Enrollment.  A dependent may also be enrolled due to a qualifying event for 

change of dependent status during the plan year.   

The employee is responsible for enrolling a dependent that becomes eligible under the plan provisions.  You must notify your agency’s HCM department within 31 

calendar days of the dependent becoming eligible and submit the required documentation listed below.  

Please be aware that knowingly providing false or misleading information may result in any or all of the following actions by the State of Ohio: 1) 
disciplinary action, up to and including removal; 2) collection action to recoup payments of benefits and claims paid for individuals determined to be 
ineligible dependents; and/or 3) civil and/or criminal prosecution. 

DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) 

REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form(ADM4717 )  

AND 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=VR84Tdk2MW4%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=XZstsuiiofk%3d&tabid=216
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DEPENDENT 

TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

Spouse 

 

 

  A current legal 
spouse  

     

 

 

One of the following: 

    Page 1 AND signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or      
1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent 

    Page 1 AND Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return 
(1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent 

     Prior year IRS e-file Signature Authorization including PIN number and both spouses’ names and 
signatures 

OR

 
   Marriage certificate (or the document the county certifies) 

AND 

One of the following proof of current (within last 6 months) joint tenancy: 

   Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate 

   Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other  

property 

   Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and 

spouse at same address 

   Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank 

statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the 
same address 

OR

 
For marriage in the last 12 months: 

   Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies) 
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

Common Law 
Spouse 

  Relationship began 
prior to October 10, 
1991 (if relationship 

began in Ohio) 

One of the following: 

   Affidavit of Common Law Marriage (ADM 4731) 

   Certificate of Common Law Marriage issued by a state or local government  

AND 

One of the following dated within the last six months: 

   Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate 

   Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other  
property 

   Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and 
spouse at same address 

   Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank 

statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the 

same address 
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