
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR ADDING AND MAINTAINING DEPENDENTS 

 
 

ADM-BAS 4010   Updated July 5, 2013 

 

  
  

DEPENDENT TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY 
(check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents □ Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717)  AND/OR the 
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form located at 
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms.htm (union members)  AND 
 

□ Required forms for the applicable dependent type 

 

Note: Union members adding dependents for dental/vision 
coverage must complete the Verification Form (DAS-BAS 
4020) in addition to the Dental and Vision Enrollment and 
Change Form 

  Click on one of the following to see the required 
documentation: 

□ Spouse 

□ Common Law Spouse 

□ Biological child under 26 

□ Adopted child under 26 

□ Stepchild under 26 

□ Foster child under 26 

□ Child under age 26 for whom the employee is the legal guardian 

□ Dental/Vision dependent children ages 19-22 

□ Disabled dependent 

□ HB 1 Dependents 

An employee may enroll a dependent in State of Ohio health benefits during Open Enrollment.  A dependent may also be 
enrolled due to a change in status/qualifying event for change of dependent status during the plan year (e.g. student 
status change events related to dental and/or vision coverage, birth, etc.).   

The employee is responsible for enrolling a dependent under the plan’s provisions.  You must notify your agency’s 
benefits representative, initiate and submit change request and available supporting documentation within 31 calendar 
days of the change in status/qualifying event.   You may initiate the enrollment process without submitting all the 
required documentation within 31 days of the qualifying event if certain criteria are met.   Please refer to the Benefit 
Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4717) for specific requirements regarding this process. 
 
Please be aware that knowingly providing false or misleading information may result in any or all of the following 
actions by the State of Ohio: 1) disciplinary action, up to and including removal; 2) collection action to recoup 
payments of benefits and claims paid for individuals determined to be ineligible dependents; and/or 3) civil and/or 

criminal prosecution.           

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=L7b9-25oKAM%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms.htm
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=PcE5liOhDnY%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=PcE5liOhDnY%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=PZolxfDvuqk%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=PZolxfDvuqk%3d&tabid=216
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY 
(check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

Spouse 

 

 

□ A current  legal 
spouse  

     

 

 

One of the following: 

□ Page 1 AND signature page of employee’s prior year Federal 

Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the spouse 

as dependent 
□ Page 1 AND Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior 

year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) 
listing the spouse as dependent 

□ Prior year IRS e-file Signature Authorization including PIN 

number and both spouses’ names and signatures 

OR

 

□ Marriage certificate (or the document the county certifies) 

AND 

One of the following proof of current (within last 6 months) 

joint tenancy: 

□ Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate 

□ Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or 
share the rent of a home or other  property 

□ Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or 
utility bill listing both employee and spouse at same address 

□ Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing 
employee AND a second bank statement, financial account 

statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with 

the same address 

OR

 
For marriage in the last 12 months: 

□ Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies) 
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY 
(check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

Common Law 
Spouse 

□ Relationship 
began prior to 
October 10, 

1991 (if 

relationship 
began in Ohio) 

One of the following: 

□ Affidavit of Common Law Marriage (ADM 4731) 

□ Certificate of Common Law Marriage issued by a state or local 

government  

AND 

One of the following dated within the last six months: 

□ Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate 

□ Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or 

share the rent of a home or other  property 
□ Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or 

utility bill listing both employee and spouse at same address 
□ Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing 

employee AND a second bank statement, financial account 
statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with 

the same address 

Biological child 

under age 26 

 

□ Biological child 

under 26 

 

 

One of the following: 

□ Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal 

Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as 
dependent 

□ Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior 

year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) 
listing the child as dependent 

□ The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a 
Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240) or certification 

of Birth Abroad (FS-240).  If in foreign language, translation 

must accompany. 
□ Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO) 

Note: For newborns, employee must initiate the enrollment process by 

submitting the Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717) 
within 31days of birth.  Employees must submit required 
documentation within 31 days of receipt.  Please refer to the Benefit 
Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717) for specific requirements. 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for biological children ages 
19-22 see dependent type Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 
19-22 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=nbFFaoGylwE%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=L7b9-25oKAM%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=L7b9-25oKAM%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=L7b9-25oKAM%3d&tabid=216
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY 
(check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

Adopted child 
under age 26 

 

□ Adopted child 
under 26  
(legal adoption 

or in 

anticipation of 
a legal 

adoption) 

 

 

 

One of the following: 

□ Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal 

Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as 

dependent 
□ Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior 

year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) 
listing the child as dependent 

□ Court documents with court signature showing that the 

employee or spouse has adopted the child 
□ International adoption papers from country of adoption 

□ Papers from the adoption agency showing intent to adopt 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for adopted children ages 
19-22 see dependent type Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 
19-22 

Stepchild under 
age 26 

 

□ Stepchild under 
26 

      

 

 

One of the following: 

□ Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal 

Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the 
stepchild as dependent 

□ Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior 
year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing 

the stepchild as dependent 

OR

Both of the following: 

□ Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies) to 

show spouse is married to employee 
□ The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a 

Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240) or certification 

of Birth Abroad (FS-240) showing spouse is biological parent 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for stepchildren ages 19-22 
see dependent type Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22 

Foster child 
under age 26 

□ Foster child 
under 26 

AND 

□ Employee or 

spouse is foster 
parent 

 

 

One of the following: 

□ Court documents signed by a judge verifying employee or spouse 
has responsibility for foster child  

□ Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal 
Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the foster 

child as dependent 
□ Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior 

year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing 

the foster child as dependent 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for foster children ages 19-
22 see dependent type Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-
22 
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY 
(check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

Child under age 
26 for whom 

the employee is 
legal guardian 

□ Child under 26 

     AND 

□ Employee or 
spouse is legal 

guardian 

 

One of the following: 

□ Court documents signed by a judge appointing employee or 

spouse as legal guardian 
□ Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal 

Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ) listing the child as 
dependent 

□ Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior 

year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) 
listing the child as dependent  

Note: For dental/vision requirements for legal guardianship 
children ages 19-22 see dependent type Dental/Vision Dependent 
Children ages 19-22 

Disabled 

dependent 

□ Child     

     AND 

□ Incapable of 
self-support 

     AND 

□ Disability began 

before age 23 

     AND 

□ Is primarily 

dependent 
upon the 

employee for 
support 

 

You must submit the required documentation for one of the 

following dependent categories as noted above: 

□ Biological child  

□ Adopted child  

□ Stepchild 

AND 

□ Approval for disability status from the health plan     

To obtain the health plan’s disability form, please go to  

http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadable
Forms.aspx 

 

Note: Application must be made within five years following the loss of 
coverage. 

Spouse or 
dependent that 
resides outside of 
the country 

□ Any dependent 
category listed 
above 

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of 

the following dependent categories as noted above; AND 

□ Visa or passport with date stamp within the last 31 days 

http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms.aspx
http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms.aspx
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY 
(check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

Dental/Vision 
dependent 

children ages 
19-22 

□ Biological, 
adopted, 

stepchild, or 
child for whom 

employee is 
legal guardian 

between ages 

19-22 

     AND 

□ Unmarried 

 

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of 
the following dependent categories as noted above: 

□ Biological child  

□ Adopted child  

□ Stepchild 

□ Foster Child 

□ Child for whom the employee is legal guardian 

AND 

□  Affidavit of Student Status (ADM 4729) 

One of the following forms of proof of qualified student 
status: 

□ A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name showing 

current enrollment.  If the birthday occurs during a standard 
school break (e.g. summer), the letter from the registrar must 

show enrollment in the previous term 
□ An official transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, 

and semesters/quarters enrolled that include the current term. 
If the birthday occurs during a standard school break (e.g. 

summer), the transcript must show enrollment in the previous 

term.  If the dependent is enrolled in their first semester/quarter 
of class, one of the above documents is required showing proof 

of current enrollment 
□ A “Current Enrollment Verification Certificate” from the National 

Student Clearinghouse with dependent’s name, school name 
and semesters/quarters enrolled that include the current term.  
(http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/) 

Note: The above documents are only required when an enrolled dependent 
turns age 19, a dependent is being added to coverage, or the documents 
are requested during the course of an audit.  

Letter, transcript, or verification certificate must show that the student has 
attended classes for two out of three semesters or three out of four 
quarters during the most recent 12-month period.  

The state will conduct random audits for proof of student enrollment.  
School schedule and grades are not acceptable proof of current enrollment.   

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ET1AzOsHiXk%3d&tabid=216
http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY 
(check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

HB 1 
Dependents 

 

 

□ Biological, step, 
or adopted 

child of an 

employee 

AND 

□ Age 26 or 27  

AND 

□ Unmarried 

AND 

□ Not employed 

by an employer 
that offers any 

health benefit 
plan under 

which the child 

is eligible for 
coverage 

AND 

□ Not eligible for 
Medicare or 

Medicaid 

AND  (one of the 

following):  

□ A full-time 

student at an 
accredited 

public or 
private 

institution of 
higher 

education  

OR 

□ A resident of 
Ohio 

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of 

the following dependent categories as noted above: 

□ Biological child  

□ Adopted child  

□ Stepchild  

AND

 

□ HB1 Affidavit 

AND

One item from one of the categories below (Ohio resident or 

full-time student): 
If a resident of Ohio, one of the following forms of proof is 
required: 

□ Copy of driver’s license/State-issued Identification Card 

□ Utility bill 

□ Lease/mortgage 

OR 

 If a full-time student, proof of full-time enrollment in an 

accredited public or private institution of higher learning by 
way of one of the following;  

□ A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name, 

statement of current full-time enrollment and school phone 
number 

□ A transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, 
indication of current full-time enrollment and school phone 

number 
□ A “Current Enrollment Verification Certificate” from the 

National Student Clearinghouse with dependent’s name, 
school name and semesters/quarters enrolled that include 
the current term.  (http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/) 

Note: Periodically you will be asked to provide updated documentation 
showing your dependent remains eligible for HB1 coverage 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=AzWrwFMkE8Q%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=AzWrwFMkE8Q%3d&tabid=216
http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/

