REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR ADDING DEPENDENTS

Ohi®dAS

An employee may enroll a dependent in State of Ohio health benefits during Open Enroliment. A dependent may also be enrolled due to a qualifying event for
change of dependent status during the plan year.

The employee is responsible for enrolling a dependent that becomes eligible under the plan provisions. You must notify your agency’s HCM department within 31
calendar days of the dependent becoming eligible and submit the required documentation listed below.

Please be aware that knowingly providing false or misleading information may result in any or all of the following actions by the State of Ohio: 1)
disciplinary action, up to and including removal; 2) collection action to recoup payments of benefits and claims paid for individuals determined to be
ineligible dependents; and/or 3) civil and/or criminal prosecution.

DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) AND
[] Required forms for the applicable dependent type

Click on one of the following to see the required documentation:
Spouse
Common Law Spouse
Biological child under 19
Adopted child under 19
Stepchild under 19
Foster child under 19
Child under age 19 for whom the employee is the legal guardian
Child under 19 for whom the Plan has received a Qualified Medical Child Support Order
Disabled dependent
Student (19-22 years of age)
HB 1 Dependents
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all J| REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
TYPE applicable boxes)
‘ All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

[] A current legal One of the following:
spouse Page 1 AND signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or

1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent

Page 1 AND Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return
(1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent

Prior year IRS e-file Signature Authorization including PIN number and both spouses’ hames and
signatures

Marriage certificate (or the document the county certifies)

e of the following proof of current (within last 6 months) joint tenancy:
Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate

Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other
property

Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and
spouse at same address

Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank
statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the

same address

OR

For marriage in the last 12 months:
[ ] Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies)
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Common Law [] Relationship began One of the following:
Spouse prior to October 10, [] Affidavit of Common Law Marriage (ADM 4731)
1991 (if relationship  §™]  certificate of Common Law Marriage issued by a state or local government
began in Ohio) AND
One of the following dated within the last six months:
[ ] Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate
[ ] Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other
property
[ ] Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and
L]

spouse at same address

Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank
statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the
same address
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Biological child [ [] Biological child under [ One of the following:
under age 19 19 Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or

AND 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent
[l Unmarried Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return
(1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent
The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of
America (FS-240) or certification of Birth Abroad (FS-240)
Note: For newborns, no initial documentation is needed. Employee must submit one of the above
documents within 31 days of birth.
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Adopted child [] Adopted child under One of the following:

under age 19 19 (legal adoption or B[] Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or
in anticipation of a 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent

legal adoption) ] Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
AND 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent

[] Unmarried [l Court documents with court signature showing that the employee or spouse has adopted the child
[] International adoption papers from country of adoption
[] Papers from the adoption agency showing intent to adopt
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Stepchild under J|[] Stepchild under 19 One of the following:

age 19 AND [l Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or
[] Unmarried 1040EZ) listing the stepchild as dependent

AND Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
[] Living in the 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the stepchild as dependent

employee’s home
50% or more of the
time

All of the following:
Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies) to show spouse is married to employee

The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of
America (FS-240) or certification of Birth Abroad (FS-240) showing spouse is biological parent

Court approved document that evidences the child living with the employee at least 50% of the time
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Foster child [] Foster child under 19 [ One of the following:
under age 19 AND Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or
[] Lives in the 1040EZ) listing the foster child as dependent
employee’s home Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
1040A or 1040EZ) listing the foster child as dependent
Court documents signed by a judge verifying employee or spouse has responsibility for foster child
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Child under age | [ ] Unmarried child under J| One of the following:
19 for whom 19 Court documents signed by a judge appointing employee or spouse as legal guardian

the employee is AND

legal guardian Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A, or

[] Resides with the 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent
employee Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
AND 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent

(] Employee is legal
guardian
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Child under age || [] Unmarried child under J[[] Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO)

19 for whom the 19
Plan has AND
received a o
Qualified Medical
Child Support
Order

[] Named as an alternate
recipient with respect
to the employee under
a Qualified Medical
Child Support Order
(QMCS0)
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

_ All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

Disabled [] Unmarried child You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent
dependent AND categories as noted above:

[[] Incapable of self- [ Biological child
support [] Adopted child
AND [] Stepchild
[] Disability began before || _AND
age 23 [] Approval for disability status from the health plan

AND To obtain health plan’s required document, go to
[] Is primarily dependent http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms/tabid/216/Default.aspx

upon tr;e employee for §\Note: Application must be made within five years following the loss of coverage.
suppor
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents

Student (19-22 [ [] Unmarried dependent

years of age) under age 23 who falls
under one of the
previously listed
categories

AND
[ ] A student at an
accredited (licensed)

school, college, or
university.

[] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent
categories as noted above:

Biological child

Adopted child

Stepchild

Foster child

Child for whom the employee or spouse is legal guardian

> 00000

O

Annual Affidavit of Student Status (ADM 4729)

ane

>
2
O

o

ne of the following forms of proof of qualified student status:

A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name showing current enroliment. If the
birthday occurs during a standard school break (e.g. summer), the letter from the registrar must
show enrollment in the previous term.

A transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, and semesters/quarters enrolled that
include the current term. If the birthday occurs during a standard school break (e.g. summer),
the transcript must show enroliment in the previous term.

[] For student subject to Michelle’s Law on medically necessary leave of absence beginning on or
after 7/1/2010: Medical documentation

Note: T7he State will annually request proof of school enrollment and a completed Affidavit of Student
Status. If the required proof is not provided, coverage ends on the last day of the birthday
month.

[
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DEPENDENT TYPE ELIGIBILITY (check all || REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
applicable boxes)
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form(ADM4717 )
AND

HB 1 Dependents

Note: For dependents
ages 19-22 who are
enrolled in college, see
the definition above for
dependent type
“student.”

[ ] Biological, step, or
adopted child of an
employee

AND

[ ] Between ages 19
through 27

AND

[ ] Unmarried

AND

(] Not employed by an
employer that offers
any health benefit
plan under which the
child is eligible for
coverage

AND

] Not eligible for
Medicare or Medicaid

AND (one of the

following):

L] A full-time student at
an accredited public
or private institution
of higher education

OR
] A resident of Ohio

Required Documents Worksheet — Employees — Revised January 12, 2011

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent
categories as noted above:

[] Biological child
[] Adopted child
[l Stepchild
AND

[] HB1 Affidavit

AND

One item from one of the categories below (Ohio resident or full-time student):
If a resident of Ohio, one of the following forms of proof is required:

[ ] Copy of drivers license

(] Utility bill

[l Lease/mortgage

OR

If a full-time student, proof of full-time enroliment in an accredited public or private
institution of higher learning by way of one of the following;

[] A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name, statement of current full-time enrollment
and school phone number

[] A transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, indication of current full-time enrollment
and school phone number

Note: Periodically you will be asked to provide updated documentation showing your dependent
remains eligible for HB1 coverage
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