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An employee may enroll a dependent in State of Ohio health benefits during Open Enrollment.  A dependent may also be enrolled due to a change in 
status/qualifying event for change of dependent status during the plan year.   

The employee is responsible for enrolling a dependent that becomes eligible under the plan provisions.  You must notify your agency’s benefits representative and 

submit the required documentation listed below within 31 calendar days of the qualifying/change in status event.   You may initiate the enrollment process without 

submitting all the required documentation within 31 days of the qualifying/change in status event if certain criteria are met.   Please refer to the Verification Form 
(DAS-BAS 4020) for specific requirements regarding this process. 

Please be aware that knowingly providing false or misleading information may result in any or all of the following actions by the State of Ohio: 1) 
disciplinary action, up to and including removal; 2) collection action to recoup payments of benefits and claims paid for individuals determined to be 
ineligible dependents; and/or 3) civil and/or criminal prosecution. 

 

 

DEPENDENT TYPE 
ELIGIBILITY (check 
all applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union members)  AND 

   Required forms for the applicable dependent type 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
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DEPENDENT TYPE 
ELIGIBILITY (check 
all applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

  Click on one of the following to see the required documentation: 

 Spouse 

 Common Law Spouse 

 Biological child under 26 

 Adopted child under 26 

 Stepchild under 26 

 Foster child under 26 

 Child under age 26 for whom the employee is the legal guardian 

 Child under 26 for whom the Plan has received a Qualified Medical Child Support Order 

 Disabled dependent 

 HB 1 Dependents 
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) 

REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union 

members)  AND 

Spouse 

 

 

  A current legal 

spouse  

     

 

 

One of the following: 

    Page 1 AND signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or      

1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent 

    Page 1 AND Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return 

(1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent 

     Prior year IRS e-file Signature Authorization including PIN number and both spouses’ names and 

signatures 

OR

 
   Marriage certificate (or the document the county certifies) 

AND 

One of the following proof of current (within last 6 months) joint tenancy: 

   Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate 

   Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other  
property 

   Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and 
spouse at same address 

   Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank 

statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the 

same address 

OR

 

For marriage in the last 12 months: 

   Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies) 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
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DEPENDENT 

TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union 

members)  AND 

Common Law 
Spouse 

  Relationship began 
prior to October 10, 
1991 (if relationship 

began in Ohio) 

One of the following: 

   Affidavit of Common Law Marriage (ADM 4731) 

   Certificate of Common Law Marriage issued by a state or local government  

AND 

One of the following dated within the last six months: 

   Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate 

   Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other  
property 

   Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and 
spouse at same address 

   Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank 

statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the 

same address 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=nbFFaoGylwE%3d&tabid=216
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union 

members)  AND 

Biological child 
under age 26 

 

  Biological child under 
26 

 

 

One of the following: 

    Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 
1040EZ) listing the child as dependent 

    Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return 
(1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent 

    The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of 

America (FS-240) or certification of Birth Abroad (FS-240) 

Note: For newborns, no initial documentation is needed.  Employee must initiate the enrollment process 
within 31 days of birth.  Please refer to Verification Form (DAS-BAS4020) for other specific 
requirements. 

 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for biological children ages 19-22 see dependent type 

Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union 

members)  AND 

Adopted child 
under age 26 

 

  Adopted child under 
26  (legal adoption or 

in anticipation of a 
legal adoption) 

 

 

 

One of the following: 

    Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 
1040EZ) listing the child as dependent 

   Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 
1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent 

   Court documents with court signature showing that the employee or spouse has adopted the child 

   International adoption papers from country of adoption 

   Papers from the adoption agency showing intent to adopt 

 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for adopted children ages 19-22 see dependent type 

Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union members)  

AND 

Stepchild under 
age 26 

 

  Stepchild under 26 

      

 

 

One of the following: 

    Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 
1040EZ) listing the stepchild as dependent 

    Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 
1040A or 1040EZ) listing the stepchild as dependent 

OR

Both of the following: 

     Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies) to show spouse is married to employee 

     The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of 
America (FS-240) or certification of Birth Abroad (FS-240) showing spouse is biological parent 

 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for stepchildren ages 19-22 see dependent type 
Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms


 

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR ADDING DEPENDENTS 

   

 

Required Documents Worksheet – Employees – Revised March 1, 2012       ADM-BAS 4010 

 

 

DEPENDENT 

TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 

applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union members)  

AND 

Foster child 

under age 26 

  Foster child under 26 

 

One of the following: 

    Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or 

1040EZ) listing the foster child as dependent 

    Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 

1040A or 1040EZ) listing the foster child as dependent 

    Court documents signed by a judge verifying employee or spouse has responsibility for foster child 

 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for foster children ages 19-22 see dependent type 
Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union members)  

AND 

Child under age 
26 for whom 

the employee is 
legal guardian 

  Child under 26 

     AND 

 Employee is legal 
guardian 

 

One of the following: 

    Court documents signed by a judge appointing employee or spouse as legal guardian 

    Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A, or 
1040EZ) listing the child as dependent 

    Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 

1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent  

 

Note: For dental/vision requirements for legal guardianship children ages 19-22 see 
dependent type Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
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DEPENDENT 
TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check all 
applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union members)  
AND 

Dental/Vision 

dependent 
children ages 

19-22 

  Biological, adopted, 

stepchild, or child for 
whom employee is 

legal guardian 
between ages 19-22 

     AND 

 Unmarried 

 

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent 

categories as noted above: 

   Biological child  

   Adopted child  

   Stepchild 

   Child for whom the employee is legal guardian 

AND 

    Affidavit of Student Status (ADM 4729) 

One of the following forms of proof of qualified student status: 

     A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name showing current enrollment.  If the birthday 

occurs during a standard school break (e.g. summer), the letter from the registrar must show 
enrollment in the previous term. 

     An official transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, and semesters/quarters enrolled that 

include the current term. If the birthday occurs during a standard school break (e.g. summer), the 
transcript must show enrollment in the previous term.  If the dependent is enrolled in their first 

semester/quarter of class, one of the above documents is required showing proof of current 
enrollment. 

     A “Current Enrollment Verification Certificate” from the National Student Clearinghouse with 
dependent’s name, school name and semesters/quarters enrolled that include the current term.  
(http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/) 

Note: The state will conduct random audits for proof of student enrollment.  The above documents are 
only required when an enrolled dependent turns age 19, a dependent is being enrolled in coverage, or 
the documents are requested during the course of an audit. 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ET1AzOsHiXk%3d&tabid=216
http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/
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DEPENDENT TYPE 

ELIGIBILITY (check 

all applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union 
members)  AND 

Disabled dependent   Child     

     AND 

 Incapable of self-

support 

     AND 

  Disability began 

before age 26 

     AND 

  Is primarily 

dependent upon 
the employee for 

support 

 

 

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent 

categories as noted above: 

   Biological child  

   Adopted child  

   Stepchild 

 AND 

    Approval for disability status from the health plan     

 

To obtain health plan’s required document, go to 

http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms/tabid/216/Defau
lt.aspx         

       

Note:   Application must be made within five years following the loss of coverage.  

 

 

 

 
 
 
 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms/tabid/216/Default.aspx
http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms/tabid/216/Default.aspx
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DEPENDENT TYPE ELIGIBILITY (check all 

applicable boxes) 

REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION 

All All Dependents    Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 )  OR  

       Dental and Vision Enrollment  and Change Form (ADM 4720)  

(exempts) or go to the Union Benefits Trust website at www.benefitstrust.org/forms (union 

members)  AND 

HB 1 Dependents 

 

 

   Biological, step, or 

adopted child of an 
employee 

AND 

 Age 26 or 27  

AND 

 Unmarried 

AND 

 Not employed by an 
employer that offers 

any health benefit 

plan under which the 
child is eligible for 

coverage 

AND 

 Not eligible for 

Medicare or Medicaid 

AND  (one of the 

following):  

 A full-time student at 
an accredited public or 

private institution of 

higher education  

OR 

 A resident of Ohio 

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent 

categories as noted above: 

     Biological child  

     Adopted child  

     Stepchild  

AND

 

  HB1 Affidavit 

AND

One item from one of the categories below (Ohio resident or full-time student): 
If a resident of Ohio, one of the following forms of proof is required: 

     Copy of driver’s license/State-issued Identification Card 

     Utility bill 

     Lease/mortgage 

OR 

 If a full-time student, proof of full-time enrollment in an accredited public or private 

institution of higher learning by way of one of the following;  

  A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name, statement of current full-time enrollment 
and school phone number 

  A transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, indication of current full-time enrollment 
and school phone number 

A “Current Enrollment Verification Certificate” from the National Student Clearinghouse with 
dependent’s name, school name and semesters/quarters enrolled that include the current term.  
(http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/) 

Note: Periodically you will be asked to provide updated documentation showing your dependent remains 
eligible for HB1 coverage 

http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=BnPH_4Hxeu8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ljiznwIqp3Y%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://www.benefitstrust.org/forms
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=aC4lNCFi3PU%3d&tabid=216
http://www.studentclearinghouse.org/

