REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR ADDING DEPENDENTS

Ohi®dAS

An employee may enroll a dependent in State of Ohio health benefits during Open Enroliment. A dependent may also be enrolled due to a qualifying event for
change of dependent status during the plan year.

The employee is responsible for enrolling a dependent that becomes eligible under the plan provisions. You must notify your agency’s HCM department within 31
calendar days of the dependent becoming eligible and submit the required documentation listed below.

Please be aware that knowingly providing false or misleading information may result in any or all of the following actions by the State of Ohio: 1)
disciplinary action, up to and including removal; 2) collection action to recoup payments of benefits and claims paid for individuals determined to be
ineligible dependents; and/or 3) civil and/or criminal prosecution.

DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [ Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR

Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND
[] Required forms for the applicable dependent type

Click on one of the following to see the required documentation:
Spouse
Common Law Spouse
Biological child under 26
Adopted child under 26
Stepchild under 26
Foster child under 26
Child under age 26 for whom the employee is the legal guardian
Child under 26 for whom the Plan has received a Qualified Medical Child Support Order
Disabled dependent
HB 1 Dependents
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all J| REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
TYPE applicable boxes)
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enroliment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

[] A current legal One of the following:
spouse Page 1 AND signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or

1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent

Page 1 AND Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return
(1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the spouse as dependent

Prior year IRS e-file Signature Authorization including PIN number and both spouses’ hames and
signatures

Marriage certificate (or the document the county certifies)

e of the following proof of current (within last 6 months) joint tenancy:
Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate

Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other
property

Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and
spouse at same address

Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank
statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the

same address

OR

For marriage in the last 12 months:
[ ] Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies)
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [ ] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

Common Law [] Relationship began One of the following:
Spouse prior to October 10, [] Affidavit of Common Law Marriage (ADM 4731)
1991 (if relationship  F™]  certificate of Common Law Marriage issued by a state or local government
began in Ohio) AND
One of the following dated within the last six months:
[ ] Proof of joint ownership of residence or other real estate
[ ] Proof that employee and spouse are both listed on a lease or share the rent of a home or other
property
[ ] Proof of a jointly-owned bank account, financial account, or utility bill listing both employee and
[]

spouse at same address

Bank statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing employee AND a second bank
statement, financial account statement, or utility bill listing the spouse, both documents with the
same address
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

Biological child [ [] Biological child under [ One of the following:

under age 26 26 Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or
1040EZ) listing the child as dependent
Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return
(1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent
The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of
America (FS-240) or certification of Birth Abroad (FS-240)

Note: For newborns, no initial documentation is needed. Employee must submit one of the above

documents within 31 days of birth.

Note: For dental/vision requirements for biological children ages 19-22 see dependent type
Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

Adopted child [] Adopted child under One of the following:

under age 26 26 (legal adoption or Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or
in anticipation of a 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent

1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent

Court documents with court signature showing that the employee or spouse has adopted the child
International adoption papers from country of adoption

Papers from the adoption agency showing intent to adopt

]

legal adoption) ] Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
]
]

Note: For dental/vision requirements for adopted children ages 19-22 see dependent type
Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

Stepchild under || [] Stepchild under 26 One of the following:
age 26 [l Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or
[]

1040EZ) listing the stepchild as dependent

Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
1040A or 1040EZ) listing the stepchild as dependent

Both of the following:

Marriage Certificate (or the document the county certifies) to show spouse is married to employee

The child’s birth certificate, Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of
America (FS-240) or certification of Birth Abroad (FS-240) showing spouse is biological parent

Note: For dental/vision requirements for stepchildren ages 19-22 see dependent type
Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22

Required Documents Worksheet — Employees — Revised August 18, 2011 ADM-BAS 4010


http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=VR84Tdk2MW4%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=XZstsuiiofk%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR ADDING DEPENDENTS

Ohi®dAS

DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

TYPE applicable boxes)
All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

[ ] Foster child under 26 [ One of the following:
Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A or

1040EZ) listing the foster child as dependent

Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
1040A or 1040EZ) listing the foster child as dependent

Court documents signed by a judge verifying employee or spouse has responsibility for foster child

Foster child
under age 26

Note: For dental/vision requirements for foster children ages 19-22 see dependent type
Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [ ] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

Child under age | [] Child under 26 One of the following:

26 for whom AND Court documents signed by a judge appointing employee or spouse as legal guardian

the employee is

legal guardian [ ] Employee is legal Page 1 and signature page of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040, 1040A, or

guardian 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent
Page 1 and Certificate of Electronic Filing of employee’s prior year Federal Income Tax Return (1040,
1040A or 1040EZ) listing the child as dependent

Note: For dental/vision requirements for legal guardianship children ages 19-22 see
dependent type Dental/Vision Dependent Children ages 19-22
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

Dental/Vision [ ] Biological, adopted, You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent
dependent stepchild, or child for || categories as noted above:
children ages whom employee is ] Biological child

19-22 legal guardian _
between ages 19-22 ] Adopted child
[] Stepchild

AND
[ Unmarried [] Child for whom the employee is legal guardian
AND

[] Annual affidavit of Student Status (ADM 4729)

One of the following forms of proof of qualified student status:

[ ] A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name showing current enroliment. If the birthday
occurs during a standard school break (e.g. summer), the letter from the registrar must show
enrollment in the previous term.

[ ] A transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, and semesters/quarters enrolled that include
the current term. If the birthday occurs during a standard school break (e.g. summer), the transcript
must show enrollment in the previous term.

Note: The state will conduct random audits for proof of student enrollment. School schedule
and grades are not acceptable proof of current enrollment.
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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY (check all
TYPE applicable boxes) REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION

All Dependents [ ] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

Disabled (] Child You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent
dependent AND categories as noted above:

[] Incapable of self- [] Biological child

support [] Adopted child
AND [] Stepchild
[] Disability began before || _AND
age 26 [] Approval for disability status from the health plan

AND To obtain health plan’s required document, go to
[] Is primarily dependent http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms/tabid/216/Default.aspx

upon tr;e employee for §\Note: Application must be made within five years following the loss of coverage.
suppor

Required Documents Worksheet — Employees — Revised August 18, 2011 ADM-BAS 4010


http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=VR84Tdk2MW4%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=XZstsuiiofk%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=ZoRxkdkGQC8%3d&tabid=216
http://das.ohio.gov/Divisions/HumanResources/HRDDownloadableForms/tabid/216/Default.aspx

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR ADDING DEPENDENTS

Ohi®dAS

DEPENDENT TYPE ELIGIBILITY (check all || REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S) FOR VERIFICATION
applicable boxes)
All Dependents [ ] Verification form AND Medical Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (ADM4717 ) OR
Dental and Vision Enrollment and Change Form (ADM 4720) AND

HB 1 Dependents

[ ] Biological, step, or
adopted child of an
employee

AND

1 Age 26 or 27

AND

[] Unmarried

AND

[] Not employed by an
employer that offers
any health benefit
plan under which the
child is eligible for
coverage

AND

[ ] Not eligible for
Medicare or Medicaid

AND (one of the

following):

L] A full-time student at
an accredited public
or private institution
of higher education

OR
] A resident of Ohio

Required Documents Worksheet — Employees — Revised August 18, 2011

You must submit the required document(s) proof for one of the following dependent
categories as noted above:

[] Biological child
[] Adopted child
[l Stepchild
AND

[] HB1 Affidavit

AND

One item from one of the categories below (Ohio resident or full-time student):
If a resident of Ohio, one of the following forms of proof is required:

[l Copy of drivers license

(] Utility bill

[l Lease/mortgage

OR

If a full-time student, proof of full-time enrollment in an accredited public or private
institution of higher learning by way of one of the following;

[] A letter from the registrar with the dependent’s name, statement of current full-time enrollment
and school phone number

[] A transcript with the dependent’s name, school name, indication of current full-time enrollment
and school phone number

Note: Periodically you will be asked to provide updated documentation showing your dependent
remains eligible for HB1 coverage
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