Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services

Discrimination Complaint Management

The Unit manages the state’s internal discrimination complaint process and system to ensure non-discrimination against a state employee or candidate for state employment on the basis of the following:

  • Race;
  • Color;
  • Religion;
  • Sex;
  • Sexual harassment;
  • National origin (ancestry);
  • Military status (past, present, or future);
  • Disability;
  • Age (40 years of age or older);
  • Genetic information; or
  • Sexual orientation.

No state agency may make any employment-related decisions on the basis of the above-listed categories, including, but not limited to, hiring, layoff, termination, transfer, promotion, demotion, rate of compensation, or eligibility for in-service training programs. Moreover, no state agency may retaliate against a complainant or a participant in a complaint.


Statewide Internal Discrimination Complaint Process

How to file a discrimination complaint

A person may file a written complaint of discrimination with either the agency EEO officer or the Equal Opportunity Division at any time within 30 days of the last incident.

Once the discrimination complaint form is completed (either by the complainant or the agency EEO officer), submitted to and received by Division, it is evaluated to determine jurisdiction.

Jurisdiction to file a discrimination complaint

In order for a complaint to be considered jurisdictional by the Division, the complainant must:

 

  • Be an agency employee or candidate for state employment;
  • Allege that the improper conduct occurred in the making of a state government employment-related decision including, but not limited to, hiring, layoff, termination, transfer promotion, demotion, rate of compensation, or eligibility for in-service training programs;
  • File the complaint with either the agency or with the Equal Opportunity Division in person, electronically, by U.S. mail, or through an authorized representative; and
  • File within 30 calendar days of the date of the alleged improper conduct.

Evaluation Outcomes
Typically, if the complaint is jurisdictional, it will be accepted for investigation and assigned to the respective agency EEO investigator. Otherwise, it is rejected.

Complainants’ Rights

When filing a complaint, the complainant has the following rights:

 

  • At any stage in the filing or investigation of a complaint, the complainant may be accompanied, represented, and advised by a representative of his or her own choosing.
  • An agency or complainant may request a complaint be investigated by an external investigator when a conflict of interest is perceived to exist within the agency.
  • Throughout the discrimination complaint process, complainants will receive notice of notice of his or her right to file a charge affidavit with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission or the federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, including the time limits for filing such charges.

Investigation Process

The agency has 60 days to complete the investigation. If a jurisdictional complaint is still pending with the agency 60 days from the date the complaint was filed, the State Equal Employment Opportunity Coordinator may require the agency to take special measures to ensure prompt processing of the complaint.

 


Agency Investigation

Any agency investigation shall include a thorough review of the circumstances under which the alleged improper conduct occurred and may include a review of the treatment of members of the complainant’s group identified by the complaint as compared with the treatment of other similarly situated employees in the agency. Information needed to apprise the complainant shall be recorded in the agency’s investigative file. At the end of their investigation, the agency must supply the complainant with the investigation report and determination, including the appeal rights of the complainant.


Discrimination Complaint Appeal Process

If the complainant disagrees with the agency’s determination they have a right to appeal to the State Equal Employment Opportunity Coordinator. This request must be done in writing within 15 days of receipt of the agency’s determination. This request can be emailed or faxed to the assigned EEO Program Contract Officer or directly to the EEO Program Manager

Upon receipt of the hearing request, the Division will review the hearing request reason and the information contained in the investigative file. In order to make the decision, the Division may also contact the agency for additional information. After review of all documents, the State Equal Employment Opportunity Coordinator will determine to either:

  • Accept the determination of the agency and deny the appeal;
  • Remand the investigative file to the agency for further investigation; or
  • Order that a hearing on the complaint be held.

If the hearing request is denied, the complaint will be notified in writing and the case will be closed. This marks the end of the appeal process.


Steps to file an internal complaint of discrimination

  1. Go to http://apps.das.ohio.gov/daseodcomplaintapp/ComplaintForm.aspx
  2. Complete and submit the discrimination complaint form and add attachments, if needed


Information about filing an external discrimination complaint

At any time in the discrimination complaint process, the complainant has the right to file with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission within six months of the incident, and with the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission within 300 days of the incident at the following:

Ohio Civil Rights Commission
30 E. Broad St., 4th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Telephone: 888-278-7101
www.crc.ohio.gov

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
1240 E. 9th St., Suite 3001
Cleveland, Ohio 44199
Telephone: 800-669-4000
www.eeoc.gov


Statutory and Regulatory Authority

The enabling statute for the statewide internal complaint process are R.C. 124.04(O). The regulations that govern the internal complaint process are found at Ohio Adm. Code Chapter 123:1-49.

Contact List (by agency)

Equal Opportunity Division


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

4200 Surface Rd.
43228


Jennifer Adair, EEO Program Manager



Natalie Kirk, EEO Program Officer


J.T. (John) Gant, EEO Program Officer

Angel Golliday, EEO Program Officer


Bryon Brown, EEO Program Technician

614-466-8380 (phone)
614-728-2785 (fax)
das-eod.aaeeo@das.ohio.gov

614-466-4753 (phone)
natalie.kirk@das.ohio.gov

614-466-7462 (phone)
john.gant@das.ohio.gov

614-644-5222 (phone)
angel.golliday@das.ohio.gov

614-728-1972 (phone)
bryon.brown@das.ohio.gov

Adjutant General


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

2825 W. Dublin Granville Rd.
43235-0789


Pamela Schaal, HCM Manager

614-336-7151 (phone)
614-336-7069 (fax)
pamela.a.schaal.nfg@mail.mil

Administrative Services


Address
  EEO Officer
  Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 40th Fl
43215


Marissa Walter, HR Administrator


Christina Carleski, HCM Manager

Nena Jackson, EEO
  614-644-1729 (phone)

614-728-4683 (fax)
marissa.walter@das.ohio.gov

614-644-4429 (phone)
christina.carleski@das.ohio.gov

614-995-7589 (phone)
nena.jackson@das.ohio.gov

Aging


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

50 W. Broad St., 9th Floor
43215


Helena Carter, EEO

614-466-5500 (phone)
614-728-5422 (fax)
hcarter@age.ohio.gov

Agriculture


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

8995 E. Main St., Suite 122
Reynoldsburg, 43068


Traci L. Orahood, HR



Keary Sorgini, EEO

614-466-5339 (phone)
614-728-2622 (fax)
traci.orahood@agri.ohio.gov

614-728-4205 (phone)
keary.sorgini@agri.ohio.gov

Arts Council


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 33rd Fl
43215


Jim Szekacs, EEO

614-728-4449 (phone)
614-466-4494 (fax)
jim.szekacs@oac.state.oh.us

Budget and Management


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 34th Fl
43215


Joan Olivieri, HR Director



Derek Talib, EEO

614-728-8720 (phone)
614-466-3813 (fax)
joan.olivieri@obm.ohio.gov

614-466-1976
derek.talib@obm.ohio.gov

Capital Square Review and Advisory Board


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

Statehouse
43215


A. Elizabeth Brown, EEO

614-728-6058 (phone)

614-752-5209 (fax)
ebrown@csrab.state.oh.us

Casino Commission


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

10 W. Broad St., 6th Fl
43215


Maria Saliaris, EEO

614-387-5854 (phone)

614-387-5854 (fax)
maria.saliaris@casinocontrol.ohio.gov

Central Services Agency (Ohio DAS)


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

77 S. High St., 16th Fl
43215


Gina Scheiderer, EEO

614-728-8233 (phone)

614-644-8112 (fax)
regina.scheiderer@das.ohio.gov

Civil Rights Commission


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 5th Fl
43215


Judia Brown, EEO

614-466-6287 (phone)

614-728-3199 (fax)
judia.brown@civ.ohio.gov

Commerce


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

77 S. High St., 23rd Fl
43215


Dwanna S. Bagner, EEO

614-728-4292 (phone)

614-466-6183 (fax)
dwanna.bagner@com.state.oh.us

Consumers Counsel


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

10 W. Broad St., 18th Fl
43215


Monica Hunyadi, EEO

614-466-9555 (phone)

614-466-9475 (fax)
monica.hunyadi@occ.ohio.gov

Cosmetology Board


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

1929 Gateway Circle
Grove City, 43123


Michelle Rathburn, EEO

614-728-9134 (phone)

614-644-6880 (fax)
michelle.rathburn@cos.state.oh.us

Development Services


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

77 S. High St., 27th Fl
43215


Susan Boothe, HR

614-644-9595 (phone)

614-644-9030 (fax)
susan.boothe@development.ohio.gov

Developmental Disabilities


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 18th Fl
43215


Tamara Hairston, EEO Prog. Mgr.



Stacey Tharp, EEO CADC
Amy Gibbons, EEO NODC
Jeannie Williams, EEO GDC
Joseph Fanell, EEO CDC
Lori Finch, EEO SODC
Karen Ringle, EEO TDC
David Montgomery, EEO WDC
Joyce Hudson-Ray, EEO MVDC

614-466-1647 (phone)

614-466-3256 (fax)
tamara.hairston@dodd.ohio.gov


stacey.tharp@dodd.ohio.gov

amy.gibbons@dodd.ohio.gov
jean.williams@dodd.ohio.gov
joseph.fanell@dodd.ohio.gov
lori.finch@dodd.ohio.gov
karen.ringle@dodd.ohio.gov
david.montgomery@dodd.ohio.gov
joyce.hudson-ray@dodd.ohio.gov


Education


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

25 S. St., 1st Fl
43215


Pamela King, Executive Director of HR




Matt Jackson, EEO


614-644-6065 (phone)

614-728-2594 (fax)
pamela.king@education.ohio.gov


matthew.jackson@education.ohio.gov

Environmental Protection


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

50 W. Town St.
43215


Karen M. Haight, EEO Chief



Lynette Riley-Dudley, EEO


614-644-3720 (phone)

614-644-2751 (fax)
karen.haight@epa.ohio.gov

lynette.riley-dudley@epa.ohio.gov

Expositions Commission


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

717 E. 17th Ave.
43211


Susan Weyrick, EEO


614-466-6520 (phone)

614-644-4031 (fax)
s.weyrick@expo.state.oh.us

Health


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

246 N. High St.
43215


Debra Payne, EEO


614-466-6258 (phone)

614-564-2463 (fax)
debra.payne@odh.ohio.gov

Higher Education


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

25 S. Front St.
43215


Drew White, EEO


614-728-3261 (phone)

614-466-5894 (fax)
dwhite@oh-tech.org

Housing Finance Agency


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

57 E. Main St., 5th Fl
43215


Kathleen Nichols, EEO


614-644-2435 (phone)

614-644-2386 (fax)
knichols@ohiohome.org

Industrial Commission


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 W. Spring St., 9th Fl
43215


Dory McClendon, EEO

614-644-5525 (phone)
614-752-8785 (fax)
dory.mcclendon@ic.ohio.gov

Insurance


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

50 W. Town St., Suite 300
43215


Andrew J. Skal, EEO


614-644-3264 (phone)

614-728-1268 (fax)
andrew.skal@insurance.ohio.gov

Job and Family Services


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 37th Fl
43215


Tiffany Richardson,Deputy Director

 

Shanna Bagner, Bureau Chief


Jorge E. Irizarry, EEO


614-644-2703 (phone)

614-752-1829 (fax)
tiffany.richardson@jfs.ohio.gov

614-995-7770 (phone)
shanna.bagner@jfs.ohio.gov


614-995-7769 (phone)
jorge.irizarry@jfs.ohio.gov

Library of Ohio, State


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

274 E. 1st Ave
43201


Stephanie Herriott, HR


614-644-7066 (phone)

614-644-1972 (fax)
sherriott@library.ohio.gov

Lottery


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

615 W. Superior Ave., 1st Fl
Cleveland, 44113

Stephanie Miller, EEO


216-774-5702 (phone)

216-787-5598 (fax)
stephanie.miller@lottery.ohio.gov

Medicaid


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

50 W. Town St.
43215


Earnika Pitts, HR Director



Brian Coston, EEO Program Administrator


614-752-4593(phone)

614-644-1434 (fax)
earnika.pitts@medicaid.ohio.gov

614-995-9981 (phone)
brian.coston@medicaid.ohio.gov


Medical Board


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 3rd Fl
43215


Danielle Cox, EEO



Susan Loe, Executive Director, Program Management and Operations


614-466-4985 (phone)

614-728-5558 (fax)
danielle.cox@med.state.oh.us

susan.loe@med.state.oh.us

Mental Health and Addiction Services


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 W. Spring St., 6th Fl
43215


LaToya King, EEO Central Office


Wendy Ivory, EEO NBH


Shelley Jolly, EEO HBH


Ursula Barrera, EEO NOPH



Bobbie Carrelli, SBH


Donovan Workman, ABH


614-466-9918 (phone)

614-752-9699 (fax)
latoya.king@mha.ohio.gov

330-467-7131
wendy.ivory@mha.ohio.gov

330-833-3135
shelley.jolly@mha.ohio.gov

419-381-1881
ursula.barrera-richards@mha.ohio.gov

513-948-3600
bobbie.carrelli@mha.ohio.gov

740-594-5000
donovan.workman@mha.ohio.gov

Natural Resources

Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

2045 Morse Rd., Bldg. D, 1st Fl
43229


Paula Pickett, EEO


614-265-6992 (phone)

614-265-7995 (fax)
paula.pickett@dnr.state.oh.us

Nursing


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

17 S. High St., 4th Fl
43215


Beth Hogon, EEO


614-466-6949 (phone)

614-728-8310 (fax)
bhogon@nursing.ohio.gov

Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities

Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

400 E. Campus View Blvd.
43235


James Clinkscale, EEO



Lucille Twitty, EEO


614-438-1429 (phone)

614-438-1277 (fax)
james.clinkscale@ood.ohio.gov

614-438-1425 (phone)
lucille.twitty@ood.ohio.gov

Personnel Board of Review


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

65 E. State St., 12th Fl
43215


Scott Marshall, EEO


614-466-2963 (phone)

614-466-6539 (fax)
scott.marshall@serb.state.oh.us

Pharmacy


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

77 S. High St., 17th Fl
43215


David Ingram, Esq., EEO


614-466-7466 (phone)

614-644-8112 (fax)
david.ingram@pharmacy.ohio.gov

Public Defender

Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

250 E. Broad St., 14th Fl
43215


Sharon Flynt, HR Director


614-466-8371 (phone)

614-728-4766 (fax)
sharon.flynt@opd.ohio.gov

Public Safety


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

1970 W. Broad St., 3rd Fl
43223


Kyle Dupler, HR


Toby Ferguson, EEO

614-752-7663 (phone)

614-752-4664 (fax)

614-387-3169 (phone)
toferguson@dps.ohio.gov

Public Utilities Commission


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

180 E. Broad St., 4th Fl
43215


Tom Flynn, EEO


614-466-7330 (phone)

614-728-7065 (fax)
tom.flynn@puc.ohio.gov

Racing Commission


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

77 S. High St., 4th Fl
43215


Bill Crawford, Deputy Director



Sherry L. White, EEO


614-466-2757 (phone)

614-466-1900 (fax)
bill.crawford@rc.state.oh.us

swhite@rc.state.oh.us

Rehabilitation and Correction


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

770 W. Broad St.
43222


April Alexander, EEO



Kristine Cadek, EEO Regional Program Administrator

George Lopez, EEO Regional Program Administrator


614-752-1800 (phone)

614-752-1829 (fax)
april.alexander@odrc.state.oh.us

614-752-1800(phone)
kristine.cadek@odrc.state.oh.us

614-995-2293 (phone)
george.lopez@odrc.state.oh.us

School for the Blind


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

5220 N. High St.
43214


Cedar Well, HR Director and EEO


614-644-5968 (phone)

614-995-7542 (fax)
wellc@osdb.oh.gov

School for the Deaf


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

500 Morse Rd.
43214


Cedar Well, HR Director and EEO


614-728-8029 (phone)

614-995-7542 (fax)
wellc@osdb.oh.gov

SERB


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

65 E. State St., 12th Fl
43215


Scott Marshall, EEO


614-466-2963 (phone)

614-466-6539 (fax)
scott.marshall@serb.state.oh.us

Service and Volunteerism


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 24th Fl
43215


Carrie Niino-Koontz, Director of Finance & Operations, EEO


614-728-5173 (phone)

614-728-2921 (fax)
carrie.niino-koontz@serveohio.gov

Tax Appeals


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 E. Broad St., 24th Fl
43215


Kathleen Crowley, Executive Director


614-466-6700 (phone)

614-644-5196 (fax)
kathleen.crowley@bta.ohio.gov

Taxation


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

4485 Northland Ridge Blvd.
43229


Elizabeth Kooi, EEO


614-466-3094 (phone)

614-387-0260 (fax)
elizabeth.kooi@tax.state.oh.us

Transportation


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

1980 W. Broad St., 3rd Fl
Mail Stop: 3270
43223


Kimberly Watson, Administrator



Robin Fogt, Affirmative Action Officer and Title VII Specialist

Tiffany Cerana, EEO Investigator


Tonya Todd, EEO Investigator


Alexandra Ellis, EEO Investigator


614-466-3664 (phone)

614-644-7400 (fax)
kim.watson@dot.state.oh.us

614-466-7708 (phone)
robin.fogt@dot.state.oh.us


614-752-6928 (phone)
tiffany.davis@dot.state.oh.us

614-466-2799 (phone)
Tonya.Todd@dot.ohio.gov

614-752-8793 (phone)
alexandra.ellis@dot.ohio.gov

Tuition Trust Authority


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

580 S. High St., Suite 208
43215


Kim Fisher, HR


614-728-8339 (phone)

614-644-5009 (fax)
kfisher@collegeadvantage.com

Veterans Services


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

77 S. High St., 7th Fl
43215


Mary Miller, HR Deputy Director



Ashleigh Couch, EEO
OVH Sandusky

Glenda Yockey, EEO
OVH Georgetown


614-387-6766 (phone)

614-387-7313 (fax)
mary.miller@dvs.ohio.gov

419-625-2425 ext. 1251
ashleigh.couch@dvs.ohio.gov

937-378-2900 ext. 2713
glenda.yockey@dvs.ohio.gov

Workers' Compensation


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

30 W. Spring St., L-28
43215


Sheri Fitzpatrick, EEO


614-728-9537 (phone)

614-621-5727 (fax)
sheri.f.1@bwc.state.oh.us

Youth Services


Address

EEO Officer

Contact Information

51 N. High St., 1st Fl
43215


Larry Blake, EEO Manager


614-644-9620 (phone)

614-466-3806 (fax)
larry.blake@dys.ohio.gov